Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Atlanta Falcons > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Atlanta Falcons

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-7-0, Finished 2nd in NFC West Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.9, Offense: -2.3, Defense: 0.4, SoS: -1.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 269 points (19.2/g), 16th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 274 points (19.6/g), 14th.
 Differential of -5 points (-0.4/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 6.8-7.2.

Coach: Norm Van Brocklin (7-7-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Marion Campbell

Stadium: Atlanta Stadium
 Training Camp: Furman University (Greenville, South Carolina)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore W 1-0 @ Chicago Bears 37 21 16 319 146 173 2 15 283 69 214 3
2 Sun September 24 boxscore L 1-1 @ New England Patriots 20 21 20 399 217 182 19 287 184 103
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-1 Los Angeles Rams 31 3 17 358 61 297 3 13 249 137 112 6
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-2 Detroit Lions 23 26 15 278 79 199 1 15 314 134 180 4
5 Sun October 15 boxscore W 3-2 @ New Orleans Saints 21 14 17 322 175 147 5 8 121 20 101 3
6 Sun October 22 boxscore W 4-2 @ Green Bay Packers 10 9 19 244 137 107 1 10 215 103 112 2
7 Sun October 29 boxscore L 4-3 San Francisco 49ers 14 49 13 152 97 55 4 19 348 159 189 3
8 Sun November 5 boxscore L 4-4 @ Los Angeles Rams 7 20 19 237 120 117 2 17 295 93 202
9 Sun November 12 boxscore W 5-4 New Orleans Saints 36 20 21 352 163 189 1 19 264 155 109 2
10 Mon November 20 boxscore L 5-5 @ Washington Redskins 13 24 14 256 105 151 4 18 268 109 159 2
11 Sun November 26 boxscore W 6-5 Denver Broncos 23 20 13 250 170 80 1 17 315 213 102 1
12 Sun December 3 boxscore W 7-5 Houston Oilers 20 10 17 328 167 161 3 13 242 154 88 6
13 Sun December 10 boxscore L 7-6 @ San Francisco 49ers 0 20 14 265 116 149 4 19 276 66 210
14 Sun December 17 boxscore L 7-7 Kansas City Chiefs 14 17 16 251 166 85 3 19 290 108 182 1