Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 Buffalo Bills

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 4th in AFC East Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.2, Offense: -3.3, Defense: 3.1, SoS: 0.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 268 points (16.8/g), 23rd of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 279 points (17.4/g), 8th.
 Differential of -11 points (-0.7/g), 17th.  Expected W-L: 7.6-8.4.

Coach: Chuck Knox (7-9-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Ray Prochaska
 Defensive Coordinator: Tom Catlin

Stadium: Rich Stadium
 Training Camp: Niagara University (Niagara Falls, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore L 0-1 Miami Dolphins 7 9 5 121 76 45 1 20 293 118 175 1
2 Sun September 9 boxscore W 1-1 Cincinnati Bengals 51 24 23 455 246 209 2 16 335 201 134 3
3 Sun September 16 boxscore L 1-2 @ San Diego Chargers 19 27 14 298 238 60 18 339 94 245 1
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W 2-2 New York Jets 46 31 25 497 348 149 1 22 416 151 265 4
5 Sun September 30 boxscore W 3-2 @ Baltimore Colts 31 13 16 374 308 66 2 18 349 265 84 2
6 Sun October 7 boxscore L 3-3 Chicago Bears 0 7 7 106 42 64 2 15 258 18 240 2
7 Sun October 14 boxscore L 3-4 @ Miami Dolphins 7 17 11 178 108 70 1 14 279 101 178 1
8 Sun October 21 boxscore L 3-5 Baltimore Colts 13 14 20 324 242 82 2 12 261 151 110 2
9 Sun October 28 boxscore W 4-5 @ Detroit Lions 20 17 18 424 319 105 3 20 377 169 208 1
10 Sun November 4 boxscore L 4-6 New England Patriots 6 26 15 264 181 83 5 20 438 327 111 3
11 Sun November 11 boxscore W 5-6 @ New York Jets 14 12 15 270 132 138 16 237 170 67 3
12 Sun November 18 boxscore W 6-6 Green Bay Packers 19 12 20 400 213 187 1 14 290 195 95 5
13 Sun November 25 boxscore W OT 7-6 @ New England Patriots 16 13 18 281 201 80 2 21 309 136 173 4
14 Sun December 2 boxscore L 7-7 Denver Broncos 16 19 19 398 298 100 7 11 226 129 97 4
15 Sun December 9 boxscore L 7-8 @ Minnesota Vikings 3 10 18 291 186 105 2 12 189 104 85 1
16 Sun December 16 boxscore L 7-9 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 0 28 8 156 78 78 3 24 415 201 214 4