Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1956 Game Results & Schedule

1956 Cleveland Browns

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-7-0, Finished 4th in NFL East Division  · 1956 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -2.4, Offense: -6.8, Defense: 4.5, SoS: -1.5, avg is 0.0.

Scored 167 points (13.9/g), 11th of 12 in the NFL. Allowed 177 points (14.8/g), 1st.
 Differential of -10 points (-0.8/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 5.6-6.4.

Coach: Paul Brown (5-7-0)

Stadium: Cleveland Municipal Stadium
 Training Camp: Hiram College (Hiram, Ohio)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 30 boxscore L 0-1 @ Chicago Cardinals 7 9 8 214 106 108 2 20 344 68 276 3
2 Sat October 6 boxscore W 1-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 14 10 17 336 122 214 14 245 153 92
3 Sun October 14 boxscore L 1-2 New York Giants 9 21 14 134 94 40 2 24 330 74 256 2
4 Sun October 21 boxscore L 1-3 @ Washington Redskins 9 20 13 216 105 111 4 18 235 35 200 3
5 Sun October 28 boxscore L 1-4 Pittsburgh Steelers 16 24 11 284 108 176 4 18 358 219 139 3
6 Sun November 4 boxscore W 2-4 @ Green Bay Packers 24 7 15 272 50 222 1 13 272 145 127 2
7 Sun November 11 boxscore L 2-5 Baltimore Colts 7 21 14 264 129 135 4 11 310 5 305
8 Sun November 18 boxscore W 3-5 @ Philadelphia Eagles 16 0 17 274 41 233 7 71 3 68 3
9 Sun November 25 boxscore L 3-6 Washington Redskins 17 20 13 184 48 136 2 14 237 140 97 2
10 Sun December 2 boxscore W 4-6 Philadelphia Eagles 17 14 19 292 115 177 5 20 252 104 148 4
11 Sun December 9 boxscore W 5-6 @ New York Giants 24 7 19 299 106 193 2 13 229 126 103 2
12 Sun December 16 boxscore L 5-7 Chicago Cardinals 7 24 13 251 151 100 4 16 252 31 221 2