Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Cleveland Browns

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-4-0, Finished 2nd in AFC Central Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 0.3, Offense: -1.6, Defense: 1.9, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 268 points (19.1/g), 17th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 249 points (17.8/g), 9th.
 Differential of 19 points (1.4/g), 14th.  Expected W-L: 7.6-6.4.

Coach: Nick Skorich (10-4-0)

Stadium: Cleveland Municipal Stadium
 Training Camp: Hiram College (Hiram, Ohio)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 Green Bay Packers 10 26 13 188 126 62 4 15 290 145 145 1
2 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 27 17 15 297 142 155 1 20 314 248 66 3
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-1 Cincinnati Bengals 27 6 14 289 180 109 19 331 203 128 4
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-2 Kansas City Chiefs 7 31 10 209 112 97 8 18 283 62 221 1
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 2-3 Chicago Bears 0 17 9 163 126 37 1 13 310 54 256 1
6 Sun October 22 boxscore W 3-3 @ Houston Oilers 23 17 13 254 119 135 17 364 221 143 2
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 4-3 @ Denver Broncos 27 20 26 343 171 172 1 17 272 126 146 1
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 5-3 Houston Oilers 20 0 15 298 146 152 11 212 93 119 1
9 Mon November 13 boxscore W 6-3 @ San Diego Chargers 21 17 18 299 175 124 1 24 327 136 191 3
10 Sun November 19 boxscore W 7-3 Pittsburgh Steelers 26 24 24 389 172 217 2 15 314 103 211 2
11 Sun November 26 boxscore W 8-3 Buffalo Bills 27 10 16 253 121 132 2 12 175 28 147 2
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 8-4 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 0 30 11 126 27 99 3 19 337 153 184 1
13 Sat December 9 boxscore W 9-4 @ Cincinnati Bengals 27 24 15 259 150 109 2 25 334 140 194 4
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 10-4 @ New York Jets 26 10 16 342 149 193 3 15 206 24 182 3
Playoffs
Division Sun December 24 boxscore L 10-5 @ Miami Dolphins 14 20 15 283 118 165 5 17 272 74 198 2