Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 Cleveland Browns

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-11-0, Finished 4th in AFC Central Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -6.5, Offense: -4.1, Defense: -2.4, SoS: -0.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 276 points (17.2/g), 24th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 375 points (23.4/g), 23rd.
 Differential of -99 points (-6.2/g), 26th.  Expected W-L: 5.2-10.8.

Coach: Sam Rutigliano (5-11-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Marty Schottenheimer

Stadium: Cleveland Municipal Stadium
 Training Camp: Kent State (Kent, Ohio)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 7 boxscore L 0-1 San Diego Chargers 14 44 27 419 366 53 2 28 535 330 205
2 Sun September 13 boxscore L 0-2 Houston Oilers 3 9 20 302 203 99 2 8 209 118 91 4
3 Sun September 20 boxscore W 1-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 20 17 31 422 237 185 15 281 233 48
4 Sun September 27 boxscore W 2-2 Atlanta Falcons 28 17 26 385 207 178 5 14 262 150 112 4
5 Sun October 4 boxscore L 2-3 @ Los Angeles Rams 16 27 16 318 240 78 1 29 410 197 213 1
6 Sun October 11 boxscore L 2-4 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 13 26 445 279 166 3 19 365 199 166 1
7 Sun October 18 boxscore W 3-4 New Orleans Saints 20 17 23 355 261 94 1 14 334 192 142 1
8 Sun October 25 boxscore W 4-4 Baltimore Colts 42 28 30 562 431 131 6 18 357 239 118 3
9 Sun November 1 boxscore L 4-5 @ Buffalo Bills 13 22 14 211 140 71 3 21 469 297 172 5
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L OT 4-6 @ Denver Broncos 20 23 20 362 280 82 4 22 362 246 116 2
11 Sun November 15 boxscore W 5-6 @ San Francisco 49ers 15 12 14 267 161 106 2 21 305 187 118 2
12 Sun November 22 boxscore L 5-7 Pittsburgh Steelers 10 32 22 365 219 146 7 25 362 223 139 5
13 Sun November 29 boxscore L 5-8 Cincinnati Bengals 21 41 23 349 224 125 3 24 356 226 130
14 Thu December 3 boxscore L 5-9 @ Houston Oilers 13 17 28 367 177 190 2 7 154 120 34 1
15 Sat December 12 boxscore L 5-10 New York Jets 13 14 17 334 260 74 2 18 314 150 164 2
16 Sun December 20 boxscore L 5-11 @ Seattle Seahawks 21 42 27 452 301 151 10 16 292 182 110 4