Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Baltimore Colts > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Baltimore Colts

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-11-0, AFC East Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -8.8, Offense: -2.8, Defense: -6.0, SoS: 2.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 239 points (14.9/g), 27th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 421 points (26.3/g), 28th.
 Differential of -182 points (-11.4/g), 28th.  Expected W-L: 3.3-12.7.

Coach: Ted Marchibroda (5-11-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Maxie Baughan

Stadium: Memorial Stadium
 Training Camp: Goucher College (Towson, Maryland)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 4 boxscore L 0-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 0 38 9 181 82 99 3 25 583 305 278 3
2 Sun September 10 boxscore L 0-2 Miami Dolphins 0 42 18 247 151 96 7 20 440 148 292 2
3 Mon September 18 boxscore W 1-2 @ New England Patriots 34 27 15 361 265 96 4 23 429 223 206 4
4 Sun September 24 boxscore L 1-3 @ Buffalo Bills 17 24 16 307 125 182 3 12 247 118 129 1
5 Sun October 1 boxscore L 1-4 Philadelphia Eagles 14 17 13 234 145 89 1 21 362 117 245 2
6 Sun October 8 boxscore W 2-4 @ St. Louis Cardinals 30 17 14 222 66 156 2 21 343 198 145 3
7 Sun October 15 boxscore L 2-5 New York Jets 10 33 23 360 211 149 5 17 403 199 204
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 3-5 Denver Broncos 7 6 11 237 131 106 1 17 341 190 151 1
9 Sun October 29 boxscore L 3-6 @ Miami Dolphins 8 26 13 231 39 192 6 14 309 189 120 2
10 Mon November 6 boxscore W 4-6 Washington Redskins 21 17 16 305 160 145 1 13 255 116 139 4
11 Sun November 12 boxscore W 5-6 @ Seattle Seahawks 17 14 14 248 115 133 1 18 263 95 168 3
12 Sun November 19 boxscore L 5-7 Cleveland Browns 24 45 22 329 267 62 1 20 480 309 171 2
13 Sun November 26 boxscore L 5-8 New England Patriots 14 35 18 300 155 145 3 15 460 232 228 2
14 Sun December 3 boxscore L 5-9 @ New York Jets 16 24 17 244 75 169 2 19 377 175 202 4
15 Sat December 9 boxscore L 5-10 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 13 35 12 129 43 86 5 20 373 234 139 3
16 Sun December 17 boxscore L 5-11 Buffalo Bills 14 21 18 172 33 139 2 16 246 53 193 1