Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1940 Game Results & Schedule

1940 Chicago Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

2-7-2, Finished 5th in NFL West Division  · 1940 NFL Season Summary

Scored 139 points (12.6/g), 6th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 222 points (20.2/g), 10th.
 Differential of -83 points (-7.5/g), 8th.  Expected W-L: 2.7-8.3.

Coach: Jimmy Conzelman (2-7-2)

Stadium: Comiskey Park
 Training Camp: Morgan Park Military Academy (Chicago, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 8 boxscore T 0-0-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 7 9 192 128 64 4 3 129 64 65 3
2 Sun September 15 boxscore T 0-0-2 Detroit Lions 0 0 2 14 14 2 5 16 26 -10 5
3 Wed September 25 boxscore W 1-0-2 Chicago Bears 21 7 12 256 83 173 2 17 256 121 135 3
3 Sun September 29 boxscore L 1-1-2 @ Green Bay Packers 6 31 14 224 87 137 6 13 332 177 155 3
4 Sat October 5 boxscore L 1-2-2 @ Detroit Lions 14 43 9 145 25 120 10 9 243 49 194 5
4 Sun October 13 boxscore L 1-3-2 @ Washington Redskins 21 28 5 209 127 82 2 20 440 325 115 5
5 Sun October 20 boxscore L 1-4-2 @ Cleveland Rams 14 26 12 259 63 196 6 7 330 177 153 3
8 Sun October 27 boxscore W 2-4-2 Cleveland Rams 17 7 14 223 77 146 4 8 147 54 93 4
9 Sun November 10 boxscore L 2-5-2 Green Bay Packers 7 28 12 189 97 92 5 16 388 114 274 1
10 Sun November 24 boxscore L 2-6-2 @ Brooklyn Dodgers 9 14 15 287 88 199 4 9 222 106 116 5
11 Sun December 1 boxscore L 2-7-2 @ Chicago Bears 23 31 11 240 139 101 2 8 254 63 191 4