Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Chicago Cardinals > 1949 Game Results & Schedule

1949 Chicago Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-5-1, Finished 3rd in NFL West Division  · 1949 NFL Season Summary

Scored 360 points (30.0/g), 2nd of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 301 points (25.1/g), 7th.
 Differential of 59 points (4.9/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 7.3-4.7.

Coach: Phil Handler (2-4-0) (co-coach with Buddy Parker) and Buddy Parker (6-5-1)

 Training Camp: Wayland Academy (Beaver Dam, Wisconsin)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 26 boxscore W 1-0 Washington Redskins 38 7 21 415 150 265 3 20 319 217 102 4
2 Sun October 2 boxscore L 1-1 Chicago Bears 7 17 11 209 122 87 1 16 313 202 111 3
3 Sat October 8 boxscore L 1-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 3 28 13 213 57 156 3 20 376 107 269 2
4 Sun October 16 boxscore W 2-2 @ Green Bay Packers 39 17 14 244 31 213 4 17 309 179 130 6
5 Sun October 23 boxscore L 2-3 Detroit Lions 7 24 10 276 117 159 8 16 336 210 126 5
6 Sun October 30 boxscore L 2-4 New York Giants 38 41 23 390 82 308 3 18 320 139 181 2
7 Sun November 6 boxscore W 3-4 @ Detroit Lions 42 19 16 317 162 155 4 20 361 172 189 5
8 Sun November 13 boxscore W 4-4 @ New York Bulldogs 65 20 32 572 253 319 2 20 393 254 139 7
9 Sun November 20 boxscore T 4-4-1 Los Angeles Rams 28 28 19 258 89 169 5 22 465 278 187 6
10 Sun November 27 boxscore W 5-4-1 Green Bay Packers 41 21 17 344 199 145 3 19 319 164 155 4
11 Sun December 4 boxscore W 6-4-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 31 27 14 277 171 106 2 19 379 222 157 6
12 Sun December 11 boxscore L 6-5-1 @ Chicago Bears 21 52 17 328 280 48 4 24 596 468 128 4