Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > St. Louis Cardinals > 1961 Game Results & Schedule

1961 St. Louis Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-7-0, NFL East Division  · 1961 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.5, Offense: -2.6, Defense: 1.1, SoS: -2.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 279 points (19.9/g), 10th of 14 in the NFL. Allowed 267 points (19.1/g), 4th.
 Differential of 12 points (0.9/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 7.4-6.6.

Coach: Chuck Drulis (2-0-0) (co-coach with Ray Prochaska and Ray Willsey), Ray Prochaska (2-0-0), Ray Willsey (2-0-0) and Pop Ivy (5-7-0)

Stadium: Busch Stadium (Sportsman's Par
 Training Camp: Lake Forest College (Lake Forest, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore W 1-0 @ New York Giants 21 10 15 239 76 163 2 12 157 74 83 5
2 Sun September 24 boxscore L 1-1 @ Cleveland Browns 17 20 18 185 90 95 3 14 245 134 111 4
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 30 27 19 368 145 223 3 20 451 371 80 3
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-2 New York Giants 9 24 5 160 132 28 7 15 224 153 71 2
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 2-3 Philadelphia Eagles 7 20 14 200 121 79 2 14 269 212 57 1
6 Sun October 22 boxscore W 3-3 @ Washington Redskins 24 0 14 242 155 87 11 89 48 41 2
7 Sun October 29 boxscore L 3-4 Cleveland Browns 10 21 13 195 118 77 3 15 326 102 224 2
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 4-4 @ Dallas Cowboys 31 17 13 193 71 122 1 18 374 238 136 5
9 Sun November 12 boxscore L 4-5 Detroit Lions 14 45 21 214 179 35 4 16 372 171 201 1
10 Sun November 19 boxscore L 4-6 @ Baltimore Colts 0 16 8 129 49 80 2 24 406 227 179 1
11 Sun November 26 boxscore L 4-7 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 27 30 12 224 165 59 7 19 347 187 160 7
12 Sun December 3 boxscore W 5-7 Washington Redskins 38 24 21 450 301 149 3 13 362 222 140 2
13 Sun December 10 boxscore W 6-7 Dallas Cowboys 31 13 14 334 260 74 3 8 126 16 110 3
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 7-7 Pittsburgh Steelers 20 0 15 245 111 134 1 16 238 155 83 6