Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1983 Game Results & Schedule

1983 St. Louis Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-7-1, Finished 3rd in NFC East Division  · 1983 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.1, Offense: 2.5, Defense: -3.6, SoS: 2.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 374 points (23.4/g), 9th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 428 points (26.8/g), 25th.
 Differential of -54 points (-3.4/g), 21st.  Expected W-L: 6.7-9.3.

Coach: Jim Hanifan (8-7-1)
 Offensive Coordinator: Rod Dowhower
 Defensive Coordinator: Tom Bettis and Floyd Peters

Stadium: Busch Stadium
 Training Camp: Eastern Illinois University (Charleston, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore L 0-1 @ New Orleans Saints 17 28 20 340 225 115 1 15 383 111 272 2
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 0-2 Dallas Cowboys 17 34 16 313 260 53 6 19 329 214 115 2
3 Sun September 18 boxscore L 0-3 San Francisco 49ers 27 42 22 385 172 213 2 24 527 336 191 2
4 Sun September 25 boxscore W 1-3 @ Philadelphia Eagles 14 11 17 284 89 195 3 15 258 180 78 4
5 Sun October 2 boxscore L 1-4 @ Kansas City Chiefs 14 38 10 194 71 123 9 17 289 183 106 6
6 Sun October 9 boxscore L 1-5 Washington Redskins 14 38 18 310 228 82 4 22 320 138 182
7 Sun October 16 boxscore W 2-5 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 34 27 17 279 143 136 2 17 270 196 74 3
8 Mon October 24 boxscore T OT 2-5-1 New York Giants 20 20 23 384 184 200 3 18 274 162 112 3
9 Sun October 30 boxscore W 3-5-1 Minnesota Vikings 41 31 24 420 238 182 2 23 348 289 59 3
10 Sun November 6 boxscore L 3-6-1 @ Washington Redskins 7 45 15 267 188 79 5 23 374 165 209 2
11 Sun November 13 boxscore W 4-6-1 Seattle Seahawks 33 28 22 408 231 177 2 15 249 165 84 2
12 Sun November 20 boxscore W 5-6-1 San Diego Chargers 44 14 18 378 205 173 2 16 315 281 34 6
13 Thu November 24 boxscore L 5-7-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 17 35 14 278 189 89 3 17 362 230 132
14 Sun December 4 boxscore W 6-7-1 @ New York Giants 10 6 10 161 81 80 2 9 142 81 61 5
15 Sun December 11 boxscore W 7-7-1 @ Los Angeles Raiders 34 24 26 366 217 149 23 327 212 115 4
16 Sun December 18 boxscore W 8-7-1 Philadelphia Eagles 31 7 24 378 147 231 2 13 238 224 14 4