Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Dallas Cowboys > 1986 Game Results & Schedule

1986 Dallas Cowboys

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 3rd in NFC East Division  · 1986 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 2.1, Offense: 3.0, Defense: -0.9, SoS: 1.5, avg is 0.0.

Scored 346 points (21.6/g), 14th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 337 points (21.1/g), 18th.
 Differential of 9 points (0.6/g), 14th.  Expected W-L: 8.2-7.8.

Coach: Tom Landry (7-9-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Ernie Stautner

Stadium: Texas Stadium
 Training Camp: California Lutheran College (Thousand Oaks, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 8 boxscore W 1-0 New York Giants 31 28 22 378 265 113 2 24 377 261 116 2
2 Sun September 14 boxscore W 2-0 @ Detroit Lions 31 7 24 388 191 197 2 12 184 104 80 3
3 Sun September 21 boxscore L 2-1 Atlanta Falcons 35 37 22 415 263 152 4 26 420 233 187 1
4 Mon September 29 boxscore W 3-1 @ St. Louis Cardinals 31 7 18 287 180 107 2 13 225 92 133 4
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 3-2 @ Denver Broncos 14 29 19 266 225 41 3 19 319 198 121 1
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 4-2 Washington Redskins 30 6 25 424 318 106 2 14 184 113 71 3
7 Sun October 19 boxscore W 5-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 17 14 17 389 253 136 2 19 317 100 217
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 6-2 St. Louis Cardinals 37 6 30 445 268 177 1 11 200 152 48 1
9 Sun November 2 boxscore L 6-3 @ New York Giants 14 17 25 408 306 102 3 14 245 46 199 3
10 Sun November 9 boxscore L 6-4 Los Angeles Raiders 13 17 20 313 147 166 6 15 246 116 130 4
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 7-4 @ San Diego Chargers 24 21 20 254 153 101 1 19 307 242 65 2
12 Sun November 23 boxscore L 7-5 @ Washington Redskins 14 41 16 251 197 54 3 23 483 316 167 1
13 Thu November 27 boxscore L 7-6 Seattle Seahawks 14 31 22 328 201 127 1 24 415 214 201 1
14 Sun December 7 boxscore L 7-7 @ Los Angeles Rams 10 29 14 224 140 84 2 21 418 212 206 1
15 Sun December 14 boxscore L 7-8 Philadelphia Eagles 21 23 15 444 248 196 2 15 323 225 98 2
16 Sun December 21 boxscore L 7-9 Chicago Bears 10 24 16 260 150 110 5 17 322 161 161 6