Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Detroit Lions > 1980 Game Results & Schedule

1980 Detroit Lions

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, NFC Central Division  · 1980 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 1.7, Offense: -0.8, Defense: 2.5, SoS: -2.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 334 points (20.9/g), 11th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 272 points (17.0/g), 5th.
 Differential of 62 points (3.9/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 9.9-6.1.

Coach: Monte Clark (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Schnelker
 Defensive Coordinator: Maxie Baughan

Stadium: Pontiac Silverdome
 Training Camp: Oakland University (Rochester, Michigan)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore W 1-0 @ Los Angeles Rams 41 20 27 494 164 330 1 16 255 169 86 3
2 Sun September 14 boxscore W 2-0 @ Green Bay Packers 29 7 19 459 229 230 1 17 242 183 59 2
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 3-0 St. Louis Cardinals 20 7 19 320 139 181 20 324 242 82 2
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W 4-0 Minnesota Vikings 27 7 23 410 150 260 1 16 276 217 59 5
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 4-1 @ Atlanta Falcons 28 43 17 370 298 72 4 19 365 174 191 2
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 New Orleans Saints 24 13 18 380 154 226 2 21 333 276 57 2
7 Sun October 19 boxscore L 5-2 @ Chicago Bears 7 24 13 241 176 65 1 16 341 171 170 2
8 Sun October 26 boxscore L 5-3 @ Kansas City Chiefs 17 20 18 322 91 231 2 18 293 174 119
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 6-3 San Francisco 49ers 17 13 21 411 265 146 6 13 241 178 63 2
10 Sun November 9 boxscore L 6-4 @ Minnesota Vikings 0 34 12 178 130 48 5 23 446 346 100
11 Sun November 16 boxscore L 6-5 Baltimore Colts 9 10 26 311 108 203 2 14 287 150 137 4
12 Sun November 23 boxscore W 7-5 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24 10 19 262 133 129 1 15 200 155 45 4
13 Thu November 27 boxscore L OT 7-6 Chicago Bears 17 23 19 313 164 149 21 302 124 178
14 Sun December 7 boxscore L 7-7 @ St. Louis Cardinals 23 24 16 304 183 121 1 14 225 99 126 1
15 Sun December 14 boxscore W 8-7 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 27 14 19 408 332 76 2 11 213 173 40 3
16 Sun December 21 boxscore W 9-7 Green Bay Packers 24 3 22 357 225 132 2 11 190 103 87 2