Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 Detroit Lions

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 2nd in NFC Central Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.3, Offense: 4.8, Defense: 0.5, SoS: 0.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 397 points (24.8/g), 4th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 322 points (20.1/g), 13th.
 Differential of 75 points (4.7/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 9.9-6.1.

Coach: Monte Clark (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Schnelker
 Defensive Coordinator: Maxie Baughan

Stadium: Pontiac Silverdome
 Training Camp: Oakland University (Rochester, Michigan)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 6 boxscore W 1-0 San Francisco 49ers 24 17 21 295 168 127 2 19 297 176 121 3
2 Sun September 13 boxscore L 1-1 @ San Diego Chargers 23 28 26 385 207 178 2 17 367 310 57 2
3 Sun September 20 boxscore L 1-2 @ Minnesota Vikings 24 26 19 404 232 172 2 18 406 312 94 3
4 Sun September 27 boxscore W 2-2 Oakland Raiders 16 0 20 260 79 181 3 14 131 45 86 2
5 Sun October 4 boxscore L 2-3 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 10 28 18 332 239 93 6 14 211 162 49 1
6 Sun October 11 boxscore L 2-4 @ Denver Broncos 21 27 18 325 63 262 1 20 401 266 135 3
7 Mon October 19 boxscore W 3-4 Chicago Bears 48 17 23 485 326 159 1 24 449 316 133 4
8 Sun October 25 boxscore W 4-4 Green Bay Packers 31 27 24 409 238 171 2 23 382 307 75 3
9 Sun November 1 boxscore L 4-5 @ Los Angeles Rams 13 20 13 293 168 125 2 17 321 143 178 3
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L 4-6 @ Washington Redskins 31 33 24 499 277 222 6 25 464 271 193 3
11 Sun November 15 boxscore W 5-6 Dallas Cowboys 27 24 23 429 231 198 3 19 323 225 98 2
12 Sun November 22 boxscore W 6-6 @ Chicago Bears 23 7 20 356 127 229 3 4 24 -20 44 3
13 Thu November 26 boxscore W 7-6 Kansas City Chiefs 27 10 21 285 114 171 1 14 245 129 116 3
14 Sun December 6 boxscore L 7-7 @ Green Bay Packers 17 31 20 360 217 143 2 24 333 265 68
15 Sat December 12 boxscore W 8-7 Minnesota Vikings 45 7 29 476 271 205 4 16 216 144 72 4
16 Sun December 20 boxscore L 8-8 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17 20 21 340 181 159 3 11 276 172 104