Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Detroit Lions > 1988 Game Results & Schedule

1988 Detroit Lions

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-12-0, NFC Central Division  · 1988 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -4.0, Offense: -5.0, Defense: 1.0, SoS: 1.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 220 points (13.8/g), 28th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 313 points (19.6/g), 10th.
 Differential of -93 points (-5.8/g), 26th.  Expected W-L: 4.8-11.2.

Coach: Wayne Fontes (2-3-0) and Darryl Rogers (2-9-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Baker and Lew Carpenter
 Defensive Coordinator: Wayne Fontes

Stadium: Pontiac Silverdome
 Training Camp: Oakland University (Rochester, Michigan)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 Atlanta Falcons 31 17 19 230 88 142 1 26 359 187 172 4
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 1-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 10 17 16 210 134 76 3 23 315 124 191 2
3 Sun September 18 boxscore L 1-2 New Orleans Saints 14 22 18 272 232 40 2 22 401 282 119 2
4 Sun September 25 boxscore L 1-3 New York Jets 10 17 12 183 97 86 1 19 316 230 86 1
5 Sun October 2 boxscore L 1-4 @ San Francisco 49ers 13 20 18 297 248 49 2 19 339 163 176 1
6 Sun October 9 boxscore L 1-5 Chicago Bears 7 24 18 262 220 42 2 20 323 222 101 1
7 Sun October 16 boxscore L 1-6 @ New York Giants 10 30 10 113 65 48 2 23 402 280 122 2
8 Sun October 23 boxscore W 2-6 @ Kansas City Chiefs 7 6 14 215 88 127 3 12 171 110 61 2
9 Sun October 30 boxscore L OT 2-7 New York Giants 10 13 11 146 98 48 2 20 272 196 76 2
10 Sun November 6 boxscore L 2-8 @ Minnesota Vikings 17 44 8 89 21 68 2 33 553 355 198 1
11 Sun November 13 boxscore L 2-9 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 20 23 21 278 203 75 3 17 304 79 225 4
12 Sun November 20 boxscore W 3-9 @ Green Bay Packers 19 9 15 270 114 156 1 24 356 304 52 3
13 Thu November 24 boxscore L 3-10 Minnesota Vikings 0 23 3 60 42 18 2 24 353 172 181
14 Sun December 4 boxscore W 4-10 Green Bay Packers 30 14 15 220 126 94 1 21 360 268 92 6
15 Sun December 11 boxscore L 4-11 @ Chicago Bears 12 13 14 310 195 115 2 14 250 168 82 1
16 Sun December 18 boxscore L 4-12 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 10 21 14 250 191 59 4 17 242 139 103 4