Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Detroit Lions > 1997 Game Results & Schedule

1997 Detroit Lions

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 3rd in NFC Central Division  · 1997 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 4.0, Offense: 3.0, Defense: 0.9, SoS: -0.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 379 points (23.7/g), 4th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 306 points (19.1/g), 10th.
 Differential of 73 points (4.6/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 10.0-6.0.

Coach: Bobby Ross (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Sylvester Croom
 Defensive Coordinator: Larry Peccatiello
 Other Notable Asst.: Marc Trestman (Quarterbacks)

Stadium: Pontiac Silverdome
 Training Camp: Saginaw Valley State (Saginaw, Michigan)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun August 31 boxscore W 1-0 Atlanta Falcons 28 17 10 221 175 46 3 13 323 268 55 4
2 Sun September 7 boxscore L 1-1 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17 24 13 346 322 24 1 20 272 99 173
3 Sun September 14 boxscore W 2-1 @ Chicago Bears 32 7 27 404 202 202 1 19 284 190 94 2
4 Sun September 21 boxscore L 2-2 @ New Orleans Saints 17 35 22 355 237 118 4 21 385 213 172
5 Sun September 28 boxscore W 3-2 Green Bay Packers 26 15 18 376 203 173 23 396 289 107 4
6 Sun October 5 boxscore L 3-3 @ Buffalo Bills 13 22 17 309 189 120 1 10 266 102 164
7 Sun October 12 boxscore W 4-3 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 27 9 17 447 188 259 1 13 289 217 72 2
8 Sun October 19 boxscore L OT 4-4 New York Giants 20 26 20 337 226 111 2 15 331 210 121 1
9 Bye Week
10 Sun November 2 boxscore L 4-5 @ Green Bay Packers 10 20 18 256 131 125 4 11 244 163 81 2
11 Sun November 9 boxscore L 4-6 @ Washington Redskins 7 30 11 268 163 105 4 25 388 247 141
12 Sun November 16 boxscore W 5-6 Minnesota Vikings 38 15 27 477 266 211 18 300 174 126 1
13 Sun November 23 boxscore W 6-6 Indianapolis Colts 32 10 21 391 142 249 12 173 120 53 1
14 Thu November 27 boxscore W 7-6 Chicago Bears 55 20 25 496 274 222 1 16 333 262 71 4
15 Sun December 7 boxscore L 7-7 @ Miami Dolphins 30 33 24 424 279 145 5 19 391 310 81 1
16 Sun December 14 boxscore W 8-7 @ Minnesota Vikings 14 13 21 390 242 148 1 13 257 43 214
17 Sun December 21 boxscore W 9-7 New York Jets 13 10 13 301 95 206 20 315 207 108 3
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 28 boxscore L 9-8 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 10 20 18 307 198 109 1 15 316 175 141 2