Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Kansas City Chiefs

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-6-0, Finished 2nd in AFC West Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 2.6, Offense: 0.4, Defense: 2.2, SoS: 0.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 287 points (20.5/g), 15th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 254 points (18.1/g), 13th.
 Differential of 33 points (2.4/g), 13th.  Expected W-L: 8.0-6.0.

Coach: Hank Stram (8-6-0)

Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium
 Training Camp: William Jewell College (Liberty, Missouri)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 Miami Dolphins 10 20 16 332 198 134 4 19 296 100 196 2
2 Mon September 25 boxscore W 1-1 @ New Orleans Saints 20 17 20 324 185 139 4 10 152 93 59
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-1 @ Denver Broncos 45 24 14 305 175 130 1 21 332 184 148 4
4 Sun October 8 boxscore W 3-1 @ Cleveland Browns 31 7 18 283 62 221 1 10 209 112 97 8
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 3-2 Cincinnati Bengals 16 23 22 320 197 123 2 11 251 182 69 2
6 Sun October 22 boxscore L 3-3 Philadelphia Eagles 20 21 17 244 152 92 2 12 349 196 153 2
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 4-3 @ San Diego Chargers 26 14 15 268 134 134 2 16 280 199 81 5
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 5-3 Oakland Raiders 27 14 22 371 181 190 1 20 293 220 73 3
9 Sun November 12 boxscore L 5-4 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 16 16 183 108 75 3 15 318 80 238 5
10 Sun November 19 boxscore L 5-5 San Diego Chargers 17 27 22 363 264 99 6 17 294 186 108
11 Sun November 26 boxscore L 5-6 @ Oakland Raiders 3 26 11 159 61 98 4 24 420 165 255 1
12 Sun December 3 boxscore W 6-6 Denver Broncos 24 21 12 189 76 113 1 22 328 191 137 5
13 Sun December 10 boxscore W 7-6 Baltimore Colts 24 10 21 322 137 185 14 254 148 106 3
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 8-6 @ Atlanta Falcons 17 14 19 290 108 182 1 16 251 166 85 3