Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997 Game Results & Schedule

1997 Kansas City Chiefs

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

13-3-0, Finished 1st in AFC West Division  · 1997 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.4, Offense: 1.8, Defense: 6.6, SoS: -0.5, avg is 0.0.

Scored 375 points (23.4/g), 5th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 232 points (14.5/g), 1st.
 Differential of 143 points (8.9/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 12.1-3.9.

Coach: Marty Schottenheimer (13-3-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Paul Hackett
 Defensive Coordinator: Gunther Cunningham
 Other Notable Asst.: Mike McCarthy (Quarterbacks)

Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium
 Training Camp: UW River Falls (River Falls, Wisconsin)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun August 31 boxscore L 0-1 @ Denver Broncos 3 19 12 241 108 133 1 20 378 232 146
2 Mon September 8 boxscore W 1-1 @ Oakland Raiders 28 27 21 428 300 128 3 22 389 281 108 2
3 Sun September 14 boxscore W 2-1 Buffalo Bills 22 16 17 267 160 107 16 325 275 50 2
4 Sun September 21 boxscore W 3-1 @ Carolina Panthers 35 14 18 331 214 117 1 24 364 278 86 5
5 Sun September 28 boxscore W OT 4-1 Seattle Seahawks 20 17 29 466 263 203 3 16 376 220 156 1
6 Sun October 5 boxscore L 4-2 @ Miami Dolphins 14 17 14 259 163 96 19 337 254 83
7 Bye Week
8 Thu October 16 boxscore W 5-2 San Diego Chargers 31 3 25 313 224 89 1 12 258 189 69 2
9 Sun October 26 boxscore W 6-2 @ St. Louis Rams 28 20 19 255 168 87 20 360 261 99 4
10 Mon November 3 boxscore W 7-2 Pittsburgh Steelers 13 10 24 392 209 183 2 12 235 93 142 1
11 Sun November 9 boxscore L 7-3 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 10 24 22 413 265 148 5 16 332 182 150 2
12 Sun November 16 boxscore W 8-3 Denver Broncos 24 22 15 202 96 106 1 26 329 194 135 1
13 Sun November 23 boxscore W 9-3 @ Seattle Seahawks 19 14 22 324 204 120 2 18 291 223 68 3
14 Sun November 30 boxscore W 10-3 San Francisco 49ers 44 9 22 340 187 153 1 13 279 152 127 3
15 Sun December 7 boxscore W 11-3 Oakland Raiders 30 0 27 418 204 214 5 93 57 36 1
16 Sun December 14 boxscore W 12-3 @ San Diego Chargers 29 7 14 239 108 131 22 282 219 63 2
17 Sun December 21 boxscore W 13-3 New Orleans Saints 25 13 14 176 20 156 17 252 149 103 5
Playoffs
Division Sun January 4 boxscore L 13-4 Denver Broncos 10 14 18 303 226 77 16 272 163 109 2