Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1973 Game Results & Schedule

1973 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-2-0, Finished 1st in NFC Central Division  · 1973 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.6, Offense: 1.7, Defense: 6.9, SoS: -0.5, avg is 0.0.

Scored 296 points (21.1/g), 9th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 168 points (12.0/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 128 points (9.1/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 11.1-2.9.

Coach: Bud Grant (12-2-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns

Stadium: Metropolitan Stadium
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 16 boxscore W 1-0 Oakland Raiders 24 16 16 273 170 103 2 19 353 153 200 4
2 Sun September 23 boxscore W 2-0 @ Chicago Bears 22 13 13 309 121 188 1 16 374 174 200 2
3 Sun September 30 boxscore W 3-0 Green Bay Packers 11 3 17 284 78 206 4 10 160 70 90 2
4 Sun October 7 boxscore W 4-0 @ Detroit Lions 23 9 17 326 179 147 3 15 245 91 154 4
5 Sun October 14 boxscore W 5-0 @ San Francisco 49ers 17 13 14 220 124 96 1 28 430 320 110 5
6 Sun October 21 boxscore W 6-0 Philadelphia Eagles 28 21 25 409 192 217 1 19 315 189 126
7 Sun October 28 boxscore W 7-0 Los Angeles Rams 10 9 19 253 71 182 1 11 157 68 89 2
8 Sun November 4 boxscore W 8-0 Cleveland Browns 26 3 23 353 152 201 1 4 145 75 70 3
9 Sun November 11 boxscore W 9-0 Detroit Lions 28 7 23 403 155 248 1 17 246 119 127 2
10 Mon November 19 boxscore L 9-1 @ Atlanta Falcons 14 20 17 291 209 82 3 18 347 171 176 3
11 Sun November 25 boxscore W 10-1 Chicago Bears 31 13 20 375 172 203 3 16 198 57 141 2
12 Sun December 2 boxscore L 10-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 0 27 13 201 120 81 3 17 332 105 227
13 Sat December 8 boxscore W 11-2 @ Green Bay Packers 31 7 10 221 83 138 17 300 148 152 5
14 Sun December 16 boxscore W 12-2 @ New York Giants 31 7 19 313 130 183 2 13 266 154 112 2
Playoffs
Division Sat December 22 boxscore W 13-2 Washington Redskins 27 20 17 359 218 141 2 18 314 159 155 2
ConfChamp Sun December 30 boxscore W 14-2 @ Dallas Cowboys 27 10 20 306 103 203 4 9 153 63 90 6
SuperBowl Sun January 13 boxscore L 14-3 N Miami Dolphins 7 24 14 238 166 72 2 21 259 63 196