Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980 Game Results & Schedule

1980 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 1st in NFC Central Division  · 1980 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.3, Offense: -0.0, Defense: -0.3, SoS: -0.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 317 points (19.8/g), 15th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 308 points (19.2/g), 11th.
 Differential of 9 points (0.6/g), 14th.  Expected W-L: 8.3-7.7.

Coach: Bud Grant (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns
 Defensive Coordinator: Bob Hollway

Stadium: Metropolitan Stadium
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore W 1-0 Atlanta Falcons 24 23 28 448 371 77 1 20 314 156 158 1
2 Sun September 14 boxscore L 1-1 Philadelphia Eagles 7 42 16 207 175 32 1 28 529 280 249 1
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 2-1 @ Chicago Bears 34 14 12 282 121 161 1 16 266 173 93 3
4 Sun September 28 boxscore L 2-2 @ Detroit Lions 7 27 16 276 217 59 5 23 410 150 260 1
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 2-3 Pittsburgh Steelers 17 23 20 318 211 107 5 23 411 231 180 2
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 3-3 Chicago Bears 13 7 16 236 144 92 2 12 234 73 161 6
7 Sun October 19 boxscore L 3-4 @ Cincinnati Bengals 0 14 10 168 113 55 2 25 432 263 169 1
8 Sun October 26 boxscore L 3-5 @ Green Bay Packers 3 16 15 297 212 85 3 18 330 183 147 5
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 4-5 @ Washington Redskins 39 14 30 401 200 201 20 248 174 74 2
10 Sun November 9 boxscore W 5-5 Detroit Lions 34 0 23 446 346 100 12 178 130 48 5
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 6-5 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 38 30 26 450 326 124 27 573 486 87 3
12 Sun November 23 boxscore L 6-6 Green Bay Packers 13 25 17 276 187 89 25 443 197 246
13 Sun November 30 boxscore W 7-6 @ New Orleans Saints 23 20 23 268 115 153 2 18 339 236 103 3
14 Sun December 7 boxscore W 8-6 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 21 10 19 365 247 118 19 348 220 128 2
15 Sun December 14 boxscore W 9-6 Cleveland Browns 28 23 29 530 455 75 21 366 232 134 1
16 Sun December 21 boxscore L 9-7 @ Houston Oilers 16 20 24 362 248 114 4 23 435 216 219 2
Playoffs
Division Sat January 3 boxscore L 9-8 @ Philadelphia Eagles 16 31 14 215 179 36 8 24 305 179 126 3