Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1986 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1986 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, NFC Central Division  · 1986 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.5, Offense: 4.0, Defense: 2.5, SoS: -1.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 398 points (24.9/g), 4th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 273 points (17.1/g), 5th.
 Differential of 125 points (7.8/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 11.4-4.6.

Coach: Jerry Burns (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Schnelker
 Defensive Coordinator: Floyd Peters
 Other Notable Asst.: Pete Carroll (Defensive Backs) and Marc Trestman (Running Backs)

Stadium: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore L 0-1 Detroit Lions 10 13 14 275 213 62 2 19 303 79 224 1
2 Sun September 14 boxscore W 1-1 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 23 10 17 242 120 122 21 239 156 83 3
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 2-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 31 7 22 412 250 162 1 13 235 154 81 3
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W 3-1 Green Bay Packers 42 7 25 383 297 86 1 15 220 138 82 4
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 3-2 @ Chicago Bears 0 23 11 159 114 45 3 18 370 199 171 3
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W OT 4-2 @ San Francisco 49ers 27 24 21 351 317 34 3 21 413 348 65 2
7 Sun October 19 boxscore W 5-2 Chicago Bears 23 7 19 376 219 157 1 10 190 137 53 2
8 Sun October 26 boxscore L 5-3 Cleveland Browns 20 23 20 396 238 158 2 14 199 50 149 2
9 Sun November 2 boxscore L OT 5-4 @ Washington Redskins 38 44 21 526 471 55 3 20 487 378 109 1
10 Sun November 9 boxscore W 6-4 @ Detroit Lions 24 10 22 432 270 162 3 15 282 201 81 4
11 Sun November 16 boxscore L 6-5 New York Giants 20 22 21 353 244 109 1 23 383 293 90 2
12 Sun November 23 boxscore L 6-6 @ Cincinnati Bengals 20 24 22 284 164 120 1 24 413 248 165 2
13 Sun November 30 boxscore W 7-6 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 45 13 25 463 342 121 20 267 166 101 3
14 Sun December 7 boxscore W 8-6 @ Green Bay Packers 32 6 20 303 146 157 1 19 367 223 144 3
15 Sun December 14 boxscore L 8-7 @ Houston Oilers 10 23 18 301 191 110 6 18 377 259 118 1
16 Sun December 21 boxscore W 9-7 New Orleans Saints 33 17 23 395 317 78 1 16 267 187 80 6