Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 New Orleans Saints

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 2nd in NFC West Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.2, Offense: 2.3, Defense: -3.5, SoS: -1.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 370 points (23.1/g), 6th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 360 points (22.5/g), 22nd.
 Differential of 10 points (0.6/g), 14th.  Expected W-L: 8.3-7.7.

Coach: Dick Nolan (8-8-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Paul Wiggin

Stadium: Louisiana Superdome
 Training Camp: Dodgertown (Vero Beach, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore L OT 0-1 Atlanta Falcons 34 40 23 512 324 188 2 35 552 295 257 2
2 Sun September 9 boxscore L 0-2 @ Green Bay Packers 19 28 29 474 289 185 2 21 309 115 194 2
3 Sun September 16 boxscore L 0-3 Philadelphia Eagles 14 26 12 235 160 75 2 18 361 162 199
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W 1-3 @ San Francisco 49ers 30 21 28 512 338 174 2 17 341 263 78 4
5 Sun September 30 boxscore W 2-3 New York Giants 24 14 21 362 195 167 3 13 285 163 122 3
6 Sun October 7 boxscore L 2-4 Los Angeles Rams 17 35 13 234 132 102 6 22 295 154 141 2
7 Sun October 14 boxscore W 3-4 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 42 14 22 397 163 234 1 16 374 213 161 4
8 Sun October 21 boxscore W 4-4 Detroit Lions 17 7 18 284 125 159 3 13 197 117 80 4
9 Sun October 28 boxscore W 5-4 @ Washington Redskins 14 10 14 233 131 102 2 15 225 47 178 1
10 Sun November 4 boxscore L 5-5 @ Denver Broncos 3 10 13 239 117 122 1 19 349 201 148 3
11 Sun November 11 boxscore W 6-5 San Francisco 49ers 31 20 27 368 153 215 1 26 393 198 195 1
12 Sun November 18 boxscore L 6-6 @ Seattle Seahawks 24 38 24 420 286 134 1 28 521 391 130 1
13 Sun November 25 boxscore W 7-6 @ Atlanta Falcons 37 6 18 415 276 139 2 13 237 135 102 6
14 Mon December 3 boxscore L 7-7 Oakland Raiders 35 42 18 289 141 148 2 31 406 264 142 3
15 Sun December 9 boxscore L 7-8 San Diego Chargers 0 35 12 231 175 56 2 31 400 234 166
16 Sun December 16 boxscore W 8-8 @ Los Angeles Rams 29 14 23 422 146 276 4 16 290 114 176 6