Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1983 Game Results & Schedule

1983 New Orleans Saints

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 3rd in NFC West Division  · 1983 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.0, Offense: -1.1, Defense: 1.1, SoS: 1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 319 points (19.9/g), 17th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 337 points (21.1/g), 12th.
 Differential of -18 points (-1.1/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 7.5-8.5.

Coach: Bum Phillips (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: King Hill
 Defensive Coordinator: Wade Phillips

Stadium: Louisiana Superdome
 Training Camp: Dodgertown (Vero Beach, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 St. Louis Cardinals 28 17 15 383 111 272 2 20 340 225 115 1
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 1-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 27 30 20 341 220 121 3 21 359 255 104 5
3 Sun September 18 boxscore W OT 2-1 Chicago Bears 34 31 21 332 248 84 6 21 493 304 189 5
4 Sun September 25 boxscore L 2-2 @ Dallas Cowboys 20 21 17 298 183 115 3 16 272 99 173 6
5 Sun October 2 boxscore W 3-2 Miami Dolphins 17 7 21 323 124 199 1 19 244 178 66 2
6 Sun October 9 boxscore W 4-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 19 17 19 311 148 163 1 20 292 203 89 1
7 Sun October 16 boxscore L 4-3 San Francisco 49ers 13 32 20 288 198 90 5 15 328 134 194 1
8 Sun October 23 boxscore W 5-3 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24 21 19 239 60 179 6 12 141 67 74 3
9 Sun October 30 boxscore L 5-4 @ Buffalo Bills 21 27 20 389 256 133 3 22 301 169 132
10 Sun November 6 boxscore W 6-4 Atlanta Falcons 27 10 17 366 128 238 1 14 213 120 93 3
11 Sun November 13 boxscore L 6-5 @ San Francisco 49ers 0 27 10 129 55 74 3 28 397 273 124 3
12 Mon November 21 boxscore L 6-6 New York Jets 28 31 20 401 162 239 2 18 289 205 84 2
13 Sun November 27 boxscore W 7-6 Minnesota Vikings 17 16 18 324 171 153 5 17 245 124 121 1
14 Sun December 4 boxscore L 7-7 @ New England Patriots 0 7 15 278 119 159 3 14 207 16 191 1
15 Sun December 11 boxscore W OT 8-7 @ Philadelphia Eagles 20 17 16 283 183 100 1 21 332 159 173 2
16 Sun December 18 boxscore L 8-8 Los Angeles Rams 24 26 18 253 111 142 2 11 238 160 78 3