Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1996 New Orleans Saints

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

3-13-0, Finished 5th in NFC West Division  · 1996 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -8.1, Offense: -7.1, Defense: -1.0, SoS: -1.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 229 points (14.3/g), 29th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 339 points (21.2/g), 20th.
 Differential of -110 points (-6.9/g), 28th.  Expected W-L: 4.5-11.5.

Coach: Rick Venturi (1-7-0) and Jim Mora (2-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Carl Smith
 Defensive Coordinator: Jim Haslett
 Other Notable Asst.: Jeff Davidson (Offensive Assistant) and Jim Mora (Secondary)

Stadium: Louisiana Superdome
 Training Camp: UW La Crosse (La Crosse, Wisconsin)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 1 boxscore L 0-1 @ San Francisco 49ers 11 27 14 231 175 56 2 23 338 181 157
2 Sun September 8 boxscore L 0-2 Carolina Panthers 20 22 14 338 244 94 2 15 225 142 83 1
3 Sun September 15 boxscore L 0-3 @ Cincinnati Bengals 15 30 15 314 287 27 4 24 319 218 101
4 Sun September 22 boxscore L 0-4 Arizona Cardinals 14 28 15 218 142 76 3 20 432 165 267 2
5 Sun September 29 boxscore L 0-5 @ Baltimore Ravens 10 17 18 298 202 96 16 343 178 165
6 Sun October 6 boxscore W 1-5 Jacksonville Jaguars 17 13 11 197 161 36 1 22 382 241 141 2
7 Sun October 13 boxscore W 2-5 Chicago Bears 27 24 23 423 218 205 4 18 327 222 105 1
8 Sun October 20 boxscore L 2-6 @ Carolina Panthers 7 19 10 174 103 71 2 21 314 155 159
9 Bye Week
10 Sun November 3 boxscore L 2-7 San Francisco 49ers 17 24 18 293 229 64 3 17 306 115 191
11 Sun November 10 boxscore L 2-8 Houston Oilers 14 31 14 227 154 73 2 20 309 161 148 1
12 Sun November 17 boxscore L 2-9 @ Atlanta Falcons 15 17 15 270 235 35 3 18 293 219 74 1
13 Sun November 24 boxscore L 2-10 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 7 13 14 242 184 58 4 15 381 251 130 2
14 Sun December 1 boxscore L 2-11 St. Louis Rams 10 26 14 228 142 86 1 15 312 220 92 2
15 Sun December 8 boxscore L 2-12 Atlanta Falcons 15 31 14 251 168 83 2 19 304 182 122 3
16 Sun December 15 boxscore W 3-12 @ New York Giants 17 3 11 261 106 155 3 10 138 48 90 4
17 Sat December 21 boxscore L 3-13 @ St. Louis Rams 13 14 12 241 148 93 1 14 187 136 51 3