Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 New England Patriots

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 2nd in AFC East Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.1, Offense: 6.1, Defense: -1.1, SoS: -0.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 411 points (25.7/g), 2nd of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 326 points (20.4/g), 15th.
 Differential of 85 points (5.3/g), 3rd.  Expected W-L: 10.1-5.9.

Coach: Ron Erhardt (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jim Ringo
 Defensive Coordinator: Fritz Shurmur

Stadium: Schaefer Stadium
 Training Camp: Bryant College (Smithfield, Rhode Island)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 3 boxscore L OT 0-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 13 16 16 244 82 162 2 20 309 191 118 2
2 Sun September 9 boxscore W 1-1 New York Jets 56 3 30 597 365 232 3 12 134 45 89 6
3 Sun September 16 boxscore W 2-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 20 14 18 332 167 165 17 198 32 166 1
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W 3-1 San Diego Chargers 27 21 20 291 140 151 2 15 232 193 39 2
5 Mon October 1 boxscore L 3-2 @ Green Bay Packers 14 27 26 401 239 162 6 19 317 199 118 2
6 Sun October 7 boxscore W 4-2 Detroit Lions 24 17 22 251 111 140 2 9 211 156 55 3
7 Sun October 14 boxscore W 5-2 @ Chicago Bears 27 7 25 360 218 142 2 5 169 96 73 2
8 Sun October 21 boxscore W 6-2 Miami Dolphins 28 13 17 299 170 129 1 13 204 69 135 5
9 Sun October 28 boxscore L 6-3 @ Baltimore Colts 26 31 19 408 298 110 2 23 396 256 140 4
10 Sun November 4 boxscore W 7-3 @ Buffalo Bills 26 6 20 438 327 111 3 15 264 181 83 5
11 Sun November 11 boxscore L 7-4 @ Denver Broncos 10 45 8 92 34 58 3 21 289 182 107 3
12 Sun November 18 boxscore W 8-4 Baltimore Colts 50 21 22 417 169 248 1 24 263 174 89 3
13 Sun November 25 boxscore L OT 8-5 Buffalo Bills 13 16 21 309 136 173 4 18 281 201 80 2
14 Thu November 29 boxscore L 8-6 @ Miami Dolphins 24 39 21 420 327 93 6 22 322 152 170 2
15 Sun December 9 boxscore L 8-7 @ New York Jets 26 27 19 320 213 107 1 20 281 127 154
16 Sun December 16 boxscore W 9-7 Minnesota Vikings 27 23 14 291 222 69 1 30 453 299 154 1