Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > New England Patriots > 1980 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1980 New England Patriots

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, Finished 2nd in AFC East Division  · 1980 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.5, Offense: 6.8, Defense: -0.3, SoS: -0.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 441 points (27.6/g), 2nd of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 325 points (20.3/g), 17th.
 Differential of 116 points (7.2/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 10.8-5.2.

Coach: Ron Erhardt (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jim Ringo
 Defensive Coordinator: Fritz Shurmur
 Other Notable Asst.: Bill Parcells (Linebackers)

Stadium: Schaefer Stadium
 Training Camp: Bryant College (Smithfield, Rhode Island)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore W 1-0 Cleveland Browns 34 17 27 452 266 186 2 16 263 215 48 2
2 Sun September 14 boxscore L 1-1 Atlanta Falcons 21 37 21 260 153 107 3 22 404 237 167 1
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 2-1 @ Seattle Seahawks 37 31 23 474 271 203 1 22 433 299 134 2
4 Mon September 29 boxscore W 3-1 Denver Broncos 23 14 23 357 200 157 2 8 170 62 108 1
5 Sun October 5 boxscore W 4-1 @ New York Jets 21 11 16 254 174 80 1 20 303 211 92 2
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 Miami Dolphins 34 0 21 360 180 180 4 8 88 27 61 4
7 Sun October 19 boxscore W 6-1 @ Baltimore Colts 37 21 21 381 264 117 21 306 160 146 2
8 Sun October 26 boxscore L 6-2 @ Buffalo Bills 13 31 8 148 109 39 4 21 357 176 181 3
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 7-2 New York Jets 34 21 16 273 185 88 2 18 335 222 113 4
10 Mon November 10 boxscore L 7-3 @ Houston Oilers 34 38 27 473 374 99 2 20 390 242 148 1
11 Sun November 16 boxscore L 7-4 Los Angeles Rams 14 17 14 202 99 103 5 13 257 150 107 2
12 Sun November 23 boxscore W 8-4 Baltimore Colts 47 21 23 386 141 245 1 18 327 172 155 5
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L 8-5 @ San Francisco 49ers 17 21 16 343 262 81 6 15 229 128 101 2
14 Mon December 8 boxscore L OT 8-6 @ Miami Dolphins 13 16 15 275 155 120 17 291 173 118
15 Sun December 14 boxscore W 9-6 Buffalo Bills 24 2 21 324 129 195 2 8 161 53 108 3
16 Sun December 21 boxscore W 10-6 @ New Orleans Saints 38 27 27 473 233 240 1 23 448 359 89