Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1938 Game Results & Schedule

1938 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-2-1, Finished 1st in NFL East Division  · 1938 NFL Season Summary

Scored 194 points (17.6/g), 2nd of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 79 points (7.2/g), 1st.
 Differential of 115 points (10.5/g), 1st.  Expected W-L: 9.8-1.2.

Coach: Steve Owen (8-2-1)

Stadium: Polo Grounds
 Training Camp: Blue Hills Country Club (Pearl River, New York)


Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
2 Sun September 11 boxscore W 1-0 @ Pittsburgh Pirates 27 14 13 223 135 88 1 6 251 73 178 3
3 Sun September 25 boxscore L 1-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 10 14 18 339 190 149 3 5 87 9 78 1
3 Mon October 3 boxscore L 1-2 Pittsburgh Pirates 10 13 7 186 104 82 3 10 216 50 166 2
4 Sun October 9 boxscore W 2-2 @ Washington Redskins 10 7 14 207 110 97 2 12 245 144 101 6
5 Sun October 16 boxscore W 3-2 Philadelphia Eagles 17 7 14 249 85 164 5 4 81 70 11 4
6 Sun October 23 boxscore W 4-2 Brooklyn Dodgers 28 14 21 384 169 215 3 7 237 108 129 5
7 Sun November 6 boxscore W 5-2 Chicago Cardinals 6 0 12 206 82 124 5 10 182 53 129 4
8 Sun November 13 boxscore W 6-2 Cleveland Rams 28 0 12 309 82 227 1 10 177 138 39 6
9 Sun November 20 boxscore W 7-2 Green Bay Packers 15 3 6 187 7 180 3 20 307 134 173 5
11 Thu November 24 boxscore T 7-2-1 @ Brooklyn Dodgers 7 7 11 222 127 95 5 6 89 14 75 2
11 Sun December 4 boxscore W 8-2-1 Washington Redskins 36 0 5 160 51 109 1 13 207 139 68 10
Playoffs
Championship Sun December 11 boxscore W 9-2-1 Green Bay Packers 23 17 10 212 97 115 1 14 378 214 164 3