Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1953 Game Results & Schedule

1953 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

3-9-0, Finished 5th in NFL East Division  · 1953 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -5.5, Offense: -5.2, Defense: -0.3, SoS: 2.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 179 points (14.9/g), 12th of 12 in the NFL. Allowed 277 points (23.1/g), 9th.
 Differential of -98 points (-8.2/g), 9th.  Expected W-L: 3.1-8.9.

Coach: Steve Owen (3-9-0)

Stadium: Polo Grounds
 Training Camp: Gustavus-Adolphus College (St. Peter, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 27 boxscore L 0-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 7 21 13 192 88 104 3 16 334 186 148 3
2 Sat October 3 boxscore L 0-2 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 14 24 8 205 156 49 5 14 208 102 106 2
3 Sun October 11 boxscore L 0-3 @ Washington Redskins 9 13 11 139 37 102 7 14 309 94 215 4
4 Sun October 18 boxscore W 1-3 Chicago Cardinals 21 7 10 219 155 64 3 14 155 156 -1 4
5 Sun October 25 boxscore L 1-4 Cleveland Browns 0 7 8 133 66 67 3 12 178 9 169 2
6 Sun November 1 boxscore W 2-4 @ Chicago Cardinals 23 20 9 228 110 118 5 19 311 249 62 6
7 Sun November 8 boxscore L 2-5 @ Philadelphia Eagles 7 30 10 92 28 64 3 21 514 460 54 2
8 Sun November 15 boxscore L 2-6 Pittsburgh Steelers 10 14 18 323 216 107 2 8 247 142 105 1
9 Sun November 22 boxscore L 2-7 Washington Redskins 21 24 25 371 211 160 3 17 253 178 75 3
10 Sun November 29 boxscore W 3-7 Philadelphia Eagles 37 28 20 307 230 77 18 383 209 174 7
11 Sun December 6 boxscore L 3-8 @ Cleveland Browns 14 62 16 283 209 74 4 20 495 389 106 1
12 Sun December 13 boxscore L 3-9 Detroit Lions 16 27 18 268 205 63 5 16 354 207 147 2