Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1959 Game Results & Schedule

1959 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-2-0, Finished 1st in NFL East Division  · 1959 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.1, Offense: 0.1, Defense: 6.0, SoS: -3.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 284 points (23.7/g), 2nd of 12 in the NFL. Allowed 170 points (14.2/g), 1st.
 Differential of 114 points (9.5/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 9.3-2.7.

Coach: Jim Lee Howell (10-2-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Tom Landry

Stadium: Yankee Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Michael's College (Winooski, Vermont)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 26 boxscore W 1-0 @ Los Angeles Rams 23 21 17 407 321 86 1 20 358 234 124 2
2 Sun October 4 boxscore L 1-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 21 49 21 333 223 110 5 18 299 223 76
3 Sun October 11 boxscore W 2-1 @ Cleveland Browns 10 6 14 250 94 156 1 23 343 204 139 1
4 Sun October 18 boxscore W 3-1 Philadelphia Eagles 24 7 20 432 269 163 5 16 247 179 68 2
5 Sun October 25 boxscore W 4-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 21 16 10 279 199 80 4 9 243 210 33 6
6 Sun November 1 boxscore W 5-1 Green Bay Packers 20 3 15 215 135 80 1 9 160 91 69 3
7 Sun November 8 boxscore W 6-1 Chicago Cardinals 9 3 11 274 144 130 3 6 163 49 114 5
8 Sun November 15 boxscore L 6-2 Pittsburgh Steelers 9 14 9 187 109 78 3 20 322 167 155 3
9 Sun November 22 boxscore W 7-2 @ Chicago Cardinals 30 20 12 386 268 118 2 9 96 96 4
10 Sun November 29 boxscore W 8-2 Washington Redskins 45 14 26 477 126 351 4 9 130 28 102 4
11 Sun December 6 boxscore W 9-2 Cleveland Browns 48 7 21 526 401 125 2 9 136 26 110 5
12 Sun December 13 boxscore W 10-2 @ Washington Redskins 24 10 22 407 238 169 2 19 346 171 175 3
Playoffs
Championship Sun December 27 boxscore L 10-3 @ Baltimore Colts 16 31 16 323 205 118 3 13 280 207 73