Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1978 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-10-0, NFC East Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -2.5, Offense: -1.1, Defense: -1.3, SoS: -0.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 264 points (16.5/g), 19th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 298 points (18.6/g), 16th.
 Differential of -34 points (-2.1/g), 22nd.  Expected W-L: 6.9-9.1.

Coach: John McVay (6-10-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Gibson
 Defensive Coordinator: Dick Modzelewski

Stadium: The Meadowlands
 Training Camp: Pace University (Pleasantville, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 2 boxscore W 1-0 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 19 13 12 238 162 76 1 16 251 86 165 4
2 Sun September 10 boxscore L 1-1 Dallas Cowboys 24 34 22 343 243 100 4 32 401 212 189 2
3 Sun September 17 boxscore W 2-1 Kansas City Chiefs 26 10 16 339 167 172 19 365 150 215 2
4 Sun September 24 boxscore W 3-1 San Francisco 49ers 27 10 22 382 126 256 3 13 191 87 104 5
5 Sun October 1 boxscore L 3-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 20 23 8 146 59 87 1 22 350 198 152 3
6 Sun October 8 boxscore L 3-3 @ Dallas Cowboys 3 24 10 142 40 102 2 21 357 200 157 2
7 Sun October 15 boxscore W 4-3 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17 14 16 218 48 170 2 20 263 100 163 4
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 5-3 Washington Redskins 17 6 12 284 105 179 15 283 165 118 3
9 Sun October 29 boxscore L 5-4 @ New Orleans Saints 17 28 17 333 129 204 3 22 300 139 161 1
10 Sun November 5 boxscore L 5-5 @ St. Louis Cardinals 10 20 22 311 169 142 5 17 350 211 139 1
11 Sun November 12 boxscore L OT 5-6 @ Washington Redskins 13 16 17 300 147 153 2 23 318 219 99 1
12 Sun November 19 boxscore L 5-7 Philadelphia Eagles 17 19 14 281 181 100 3 23 314 164 150 3
13 Sun November 26 boxscore L 5-8 @ Buffalo Bills 17 41 15 321 222 99 1 27 465 99 366 1
14 Sun December 3 boxscore L 5-9 Los Angeles Rams 17 20 18 333 148 185 5 13 192 94 98
15 Sun December 10 boxscore W 6-9 St. Louis Cardinals 17 0 14 255 24 231 2 17 341 198 143 5
16 Sun December 17 boxscore L 6-10 @ Philadelphia Eagles 3 20 11 223 175 48 5 16 302 64 238 2