Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1983 Game Results & Schedule

1983 New York Jets

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 5th in AFC East Division  · 1983 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.2, Offense: -1.9, Defense: 0.7, SoS: -0.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 313 points (19.6/g), 19th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 331 points (20.7/g), 10th.
 Differential of -18 points (-1.1/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 7.5-8.5.

Coach: Joe Walton (7-9-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Joe Gardi

Stadium: Shea Stadium
 Training Camp: Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 @ San Diego Chargers 41 29 25 391 140 251 1 23 488 354 134 4
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 1-1 Seattle Seahawks 10 17 16 379 205 174 7 19 272 76 196 3
3 Sun September 18 boxscore L 1-2 @ New England Patriots 13 23 19 266 177 89 22 398 70 328
4 Sun September 25 boxscore W OT 2-2 Los Angeles Rams 27 24 25 484 403 81 3 19 425 222 203 4
5 Mon October 3 boxscore W 3-2 @ Buffalo Bills 34 10 24 416 206 210 2 16 216 151 65 5
6 Sun October 9 boxscore L 3-3 @ Cleveland Browns 7 10 19 312 188 124 2 18 333 267 66 2
7 Sun October 16 boxscore L 3-4 Miami Dolphins 14 32 23 342 221 121 6 12 266 215 51 1
8 Sun October 23 boxscore L 3-5 Atlanta Falcons 21 27 19 404 221 183 2 19 407 277 130 2
9 Sun October 30 boxscore W 4-5 @ San Francisco 49ers 27 13 21 364 178 186 1 17 312 227 85 2
10 Sun November 6 boxscore L 4-6 Baltimore Colts 14 17 18 298 196 102 4 15 231 99 132
11 Sun November 13 boxscore L 4-7 Buffalo Bills 17 24 18 325 236 89 3 20 314 245 69 2
12 Mon November 21 boxscore W 5-7 @ New Orleans Saints 31 28 18 289 205 84 2 20 401 162 239 2
13 Sun November 27 boxscore W 6-7 New England Patriots 26 3 21 421 305 116 2 12 208 112 96 2
14 Sun December 4 boxscore W 7-7 @ Baltimore Colts 10 6 20 283 132 151 3 19 324 164 160 4
15 Sat December 10 boxscore L 7-8 Pittsburgh Steelers 7 34 13 251 215 36 5 22 380 138 242 1
16 Fri December 16 boxscore L 7-9 @ Miami Dolphins 14 34 14 268 197 71 4 25 326 144 182 2