Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > New York Jets > 1986 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1986 New York Jets

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, Finished 2nd in AFC East Division  · 1986 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.4, Offense: 2.0, Defense: -3.3, SoS: 0.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 364 points (22.8/g), 11th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 386 points (24.1/g), 22nd.
 Differential of -22 points (-1.4/g), 17th.  Expected W-L: 7.4-8.6.

Coach: Joe Walton (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Rich Kotite
 Defensive Coordinator: Bud Carson

Stadium: The Meadowlands
 Training Camp: Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore W 1-0 @ Buffalo Bills 28 24 19 390 287 103 19 368 289 79 2
2 Thu September 11 boxscore L 1-1 New England Patriots 6 20 14 221 151 70 3 21 265 138 127 1
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W OT 2-1 Miami Dolphins 51 45 32 581 449 132 4 27 485 435 50 3
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W 3-1 @ Indianapolis Colts 26 7 17 251 166 85 5 16 282 230 52 4
5 Sun October 5 boxscore W 4-1 Buffalo Bills 14 13 20 382 272 110 1 16 320 194 126 1
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 @ New England Patriots 31 24 24 322 145 177 19 400 383 17 2
7 Mon October 20 boxscore W 6-1 Denver Broncos 22 10 20 211 74 137 19 279 232 47 3
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 7-1 New Orleans Saints 28 23 20 281 226 55 2 21 304 243 61 5
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 8-1 @ Seattle Seahawks 38 7 22 553 427 126 16 322 271 51 3
10 Sun November 9 boxscore W 9-1 @ Atlanta Falcons 28 14 22 426 322 104 23 393 305 88 2
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 10-1 Indianapolis Colts 31 16 19 360 218 142 4 23 408 350 58 6
12 Mon November 24 boxscore L 10-2 @ Miami Dolphins 3 45 17 280 191 89 4 31 514 325 189
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L 10-3 Los Angeles Rams 3 17 19 350 261 89 4 14 293 155 138 2
14 Sun December 7 boxscore L 10-4 @ San Francisco 49ers 10 24 16 199 161 38 3 27 432 234 198 1
15 Sat December 13 boxscore L 10-5 Pittsburgh Steelers 24 45 22 369 223 146 4 25 364 189 175 1
16 Sun December 21 boxscore L 10-6 @ Cincinnati Bengals 21 52 16 199 73 126 3 32 621 416 205 2
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 28 boxscore W 11-6 Kansas City Chiefs 35 15 19 306 141 165 15 241 174 67 3
Division Sat January 3 boxscore L OT 11-7 @ Cleveland Browns 20 23 14 287 183 104 33 558 483 75 2