Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1989 Game Results & Schedule

1989 New York Jets

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-12-0, Finished 5th in AFC East Division  · 1989 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -10.1, Offense: -4.9, Defense: -5.2, SoS: -0.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 253 points (15.8/g), 26th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 411 points (25.7/g), 25th.
 Differential of -158 points (-9.9/g), 26th.  Expected W-L: 3.8-12.2.

Coach: Joe Walton (4-12-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Rich Kotite
 Defensive Coordinator: Ralph Hawkins

Stadium: Giants Stadium
 Training Camp: Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 10 boxscore L 0-1 New England Patriots 24 27 14 304 255 49 1 26 427 273 154 3
2 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-2 @ Cleveland Browns 24 38 21 382 246 136 4 18 277 192 85 1
3 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-2 @ Miami Dolphins 40 33 25 411 309 102 2 30 524 446 78 2
4 Sun October 1 boxscore L 1-3 Indianapolis Colts 10 17 18 245 182 63 2 17 316 242 74 2
5 Mon October 9 boxscore L 1-4 Los Angeles Raiders 7 14 20 392 302 90 2 14 315 185 130 1
6 Sun October 15 boxscore L 1-5 @ New Orleans Saints 14 29 15 251 199 52 4 20 418 266 152 4
7 Sun October 22 boxscore L 1-6 @ Buffalo Bills 3 34 9 154 115 39 3 22 343 139 204
8 Sun October 29 boxscore L 1-7 San Francisco 49ers 10 23 19 251 121 130 2 20 399 240 159 1
9 Sun November 5 boxscore W 2-7 @ New England Patriots 27 26 19 486 374 112 27 453 318 135 1
10 Sun November 12 boxscore L 2-8 Miami Dolphins 23 31 23 410 274 136 3 19 447 344 103 3
11 Sun November 19 boxscore L 2-9 @ Indianapolis Colts 10 27 22 354 244 110 3 23 424 239 185
12 Sun November 26 boxscore W 3-9 Atlanta Falcons 27 7 24 318 138 180 2 12 213 147 66 1
13 Sun December 3 boxscore W 4-9 @ San Diego Chargers 20 17 19 249 68 181 4 14 258 187 71 2
14 Sun December 10 boxscore L 4-10 Pittsburgh Steelers 0 13 19 313 243 70 3 17 317 160 157 1
15 Sun December 17 boxscore L 4-11 @ Los Angeles Rams 14 38 14 291 199 92 4 21 422 272 150 1
16 Sat December 23 boxscore L 4-12 Buffalo Bills 0 37 11 200 146 54 2 28 441 208 233 1