Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > New York Jets > 2002 Game Results & Schedule

2002 New York Jets

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 1st in AFC East Division  · 2002 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 3.2, Offense: 0.9, Defense: 2.3, SoS: 1.7, avg is 0.0.

Scored 359 points (22.4/g), 15th of 32 in the NFL. Allowed 336 points (21.0/g), 14th.
 Differential of 23 points (1.4/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 8.6-7.4.

Coach: Herman Edwards (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Paul Hackett
 Defensive Coordinator: Ted Cottrell
 Other Notable Asst.: Doug Marrone (Offensive Line)

Stadium: The Meadowlands
 Training Camp: Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense Expected Points
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO Offense Defense Sp. Tms
1 Sun September 8 boxscore W OT 1-0 @ Buffalo Bills 37 31 18 266 193 73 1 26 384 242 142 3 1.22 -3.16 7.49
2 Sun September 15 boxscore L 1-1 New England Patriots 7 44 9 200 168 32 2 24 432 269 163 2 -31.62 -12.36 7.88
3 Sun September 22 boxscore L 1-2 @ Miami Dolphins 3 30 13 189 131 58 4 21 394 183 211 -21.43 -12.67 5.49
4 Sun September 29 boxscore L 1-3 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 3 28 18 345 267 78 4 20 383 160 223 -15.39 -14.42 7.28
5 Sun October 6 boxscore L 1-4 Kansas City Chiefs 25 29 23 359 212 147 1 24 504 289 215 1 13.66 -18.92 -0.14
6 Bye Week
7 Sun October 20 boxscore W 2-4 Minnesota Vikings 20 7 21 407 316 91 21 389 288 101 4 16.36 -4.38 -0.80
8 Sun October 27 boxscore L 2-5 Cleveland Browns 21 24 14 241 175 66 3 18 334 279 55 -4.46 -3.92 4.40
9 Sun November 3 boxscore W 3-5 @ San Diego Chargers 44 13 21 413 248 165 15 243 170 73 3 13.34 11.63 4.60
10 Sun November 10 boxscore W 4-5 Miami Dolphins 13 10 19 264 167 97 15 279 210 69 2 -2.58 8.54 -2.40
11 Sun November 17 boxscore W 5-5 @ Detroit Lions 31 14 26 408 219 189 1 13 279 171 108 1 21.33 2.56 -2.99
12 Sun November 24 boxscore W 6-5 Buffalo Bills 31 13 22 325 170 155 17 258 170 88 3 11.63 7.84 0.33
13 Mon December 2 boxscore L 6-6 @ Oakland Raiders 20 26 18 274 242 32 2 25 411 313 98 5.46 -11.34 -2.00
14 Sun December 8 boxscore W 7-6 Denver Broncos 19 13 18 281 217 64 21 369 258 111 1 7.69 -5.80 5.53
15 Sun December 15 boxscore L 7-7 @ Chicago Bears 13 20 19 334 200 134 1 20 266 161 105 4.25 -6.95 -2.65
16 Sun December 22 boxscore W 8-7 @ New England Patriots 30 17 19 393 285 108 14 216 119 97 2 6.90 10.95 -5.03
17 Sun December 29 boxscore W 9-7 Green Bay Packers 42 17 22 337 208 129 19 322 208 114 1 22.89 0.60 3.11
Playoffs
WildCard Sat January 4 boxscore W 10-7 Indianapolis Colts 41 0 26 396 216 180 10 176 124 52 3 21.86 13.94 4.41
Division Sun January 12 boxscore L 10-8 @ Oakland Raiders 10 30 20 287 167 120 4 20 399 272 127 1 -15.89 -8.79 5.31