Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1963 Game Results & Schedule

1963 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-8-0, Finished 3rd in AFL East Division  · 1963 AFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -4.4, Offense: -1.1, Defense: -3.3, SoS: 0.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 302 points (21.6/g), 6th of 8 in the AFL. Allowed 372 points (26.6/g), 6th.
 Differential of -70 points (-5.0/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 5.3-8.7.

Coach: Pop Ivy (6-8-0)

Stadium: Jeppesen Stadium
 Training Camp: Colorado College (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 7 boxscore L 0-1 Oakland Raiders 13 24 16 318 206 112 10 16 328 249 79 4
2 Sat September 14 boxscore W 1-1 Denver Broncos 20 14 17 290 208 82 2 13 182 76 106 4
2 Sun September 22 boxscore L 1-2 @ New York Jets 17 24 18 393 308 85 3 17 251 191 60 4
4 Sat September 28 boxscore W 2-2 @ Buffalo Bills 31 20 23 353 237 116 3 19 311 123 188 3
4 Sun October 6 boxscore L 2-3 @ Kansas City Chiefs 7 28 12 287 241 46 6 21 337 212 125 2
5 Sun October 13 boxscore W 3-3 @ Denver Broncos 33 24 24 392 274 118 2 13 313 217 96 5
7 Sun October 20 boxscore W 4-3 Buffalo Bills 28 14 13 287 205 82 1 22 381 241 140 5
8 Sun October 27 boxscore W 5-3 Kansas City Chiefs 28 7 19 310 218 92 3 20 352 129 223 7
9 Fri November 1 boxscore L 5-4 @ Boston Patriots 3 45 13 206 187 19 8 15 311 168 143 1
10 Sun November 10 boxscore W 6-4 New York Jets 31 27 23 309 189 120 2 21 354 282 72 5
11 Sun December 1 boxscore L 6-5 @ San Diego Chargers 0 27 14 243 141 102 5 24 349 137 212 4
12 Sun December 8 boxscore L 6-6 Boston Patriots 28 46 22 274 214 60 6 22 325 131 194 2
13 Sun December 15 boxscore L 6-7 San Diego Chargers 14 20 13 289 247 42 4 14 247 85 162 2
14 Sun December 22 boxscore L 6-8 @ Oakland Raiders 49 52 27 468 335 133 2 21 540 359 181 2