Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

11-5-0, AFC Central Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 4.4, Offense: 2.9, Defense: 1.4, SoS: 2.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 362 points (22.6/g), 8th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 331 points (20.7/g), 16th.
 Differential of 31 points (1.9/g), 10th.  Expected W-L: 8.8-7.2.

Coach: Bum Phillips (11-5-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Ed Biles
 Other Notable Asst.: Wade Phillips (Defensive Line)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Angelo State (San Angelo, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore W 1-0 @ Washington Redskins 29 27 21 365 166 199 3 14 246 104 142 3
2 Sun September 9 boxscore L 1-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 38 12 124 22 102 6 17 256 174 82 2
3 Sun September 16 boxscore W 2-1 Kansas City Chiefs 20 6 16 345 173 172 1 16 280 97 183 5
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W OT 3-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 30 27 19 361 184 177 3 21 265 100 165 2
5 Sun September 30 boxscore W 4-1 Cleveland Browns 31 10 17 270 76 194 24 309 201 108 4
6 Sun October 7 boxscore L 4-2 St. Louis Cardinals 17 24 13 222 165 57 3 26 447 253 194 4
7 Sun October 14 boxscore W 5-2 @ Baltimore Colts 28 16 16 247 27 220 2 16 189 82 107 4
8 Sun October 21 boxscore L 5-3 @ Seattle Seahawks 14 34 16 243 160 83 3 21 391 240 151 2
9 Sun October 28 boxscore W OT 6-3 New York Jets 27 24 17 311 199 112 1 20 357 225 132 3
10 Mon November 5 boxscore W 7-3 @ Miami Dolphins 9 6 10 190 11 179 13 240 138 102 4
11 Sun November 11 boxscore W 8-3 Oakland Raiders 31 17 16 348 205 143 2 21 294 213 81 3
12 Sun November 18 boxscore W 9-3 Cincinnati Bengals 42 21 26 485 322 163 3 17 306 106 200 6
13 Thu November 22 boxscore W 10-3 @ Dallas Cowboys 30 24 17 378 154 224 20 371 279 92 3
14 Sun December 2 boxscore L 10-4 @ Cleveland Browns 7 14 13 249 128 121 2 23 335 137 198 2
15 Mon December 10 boxscore W 11-4 Pittsburgh Steelers 20 17 20 350 160 190 15 338 218 120 2
16 Sun December 16 boxscore L 11-5 Philadelphia Eagles 20 26 19 339 104 235 3 20 366 198 168 1
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 23 boxscore W 12-5 Denver Broncos 13 7 15 282 147 135 2 17 216 104 112 1
Division Sat December 29 boxscore W 13-5 @ San Diego Chargers 17 14 15 259 111 148 1 25 380 317 63 5
ConfChamp Sun January 6 boxscore L 13-6 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 13 27 11 227 203 24 3 22 358 197 161 2