Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1940 Game Results & Schedule

1940 Philadelphia Eagles

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

1-10-0, Finished 5th in NFL East Division  · 1940 NFL Season Summary

Scored 111 points (10.1/g), 9th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 211 points (19.2/g), 9th.
 Differential of -100 points (-9.1/g), 9th.  Expected W-L: 2.0-9.0.

Coach: Bert Bell (1-10-0)

Stadium: Shibe Park
 Training Camp: West Chester University (State Teachers College) (West Chester, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 15 boxscore L 0-1 @ Green Bay Packers 20 27 11 218 225 -7 4 9 266 118 148 1
1 Sun September 22 boxscore L 0-2 @ Cleveland Rams 13 21 11 239 196 43 4 9 229 107 122 1
3 Sat September 28 boxscore L 0-3 New York Giants 14 20 15 213 170 43 1 8 235 82 153
3 Fri October 4 boxscore L 0-4 @ Brooklyn Dodgers 17 30 9 152 100 52 3 14 249 71 178 1
4 Sun October 13 boxscore L 0-5 @ New York Giants 7 17 9 117 102 15 1 15 276 87 189 3
6 Sun October 20 boxscore L 0-6 Washington Redskins 17 34 10 276 238 38 4 14 380 283 97 4
7 Sat October 26 boxscore L 0-7 Brooklyn Dodgers 7 21 13 257 228 29 2 7 221 22 199 1
10 Sun November 10 boxscore L 0-8 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 3 7 8 129 59 70 1 8 171 26 145 2
9 Sun November 17 boxscore L 0-9 Detroit Lions 0 21 9 129 152 -23 4 14 397 131 266 3
10 Thu November 28 boxscore W 1-9 Pittsburgh Steelers 7 0 8 120 67 53 1 5 130 65 65 6
11 Sun December 1 boxscore L 1-10 @ Washington Redskins 6 13 19 332 316 16 1 12 256 36 220 3