Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Philadelphia Eagles

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 2nd in NFC East Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 2.3, Offense: -1.1, Defense: 3.4, SoS: 1.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 270 points (16.9/g), 18th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 250 points (15.6/g), 5th.
 Differential of 20 points (1.2/g), 9th.  Expected W-L: 8.7-7.3.

Coach: Dick Vermeil (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: John Ralston
 Defensive Coordinator: Marion Campbell

Stadium: Veterans Stadium
 Training Camp: Widener University (Chester, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 3 boxscore L 0-1 Los Angeles Rams 14 16 10 208 80 128 2 15 220 117 103 1
2 Sun September 10 boxscore L 0-2 @ Washington Redskins 30 35 18 313 185 128 2 19 316 199 117 3
3 Sun September 17 boxscore W 1-2 @ New Orleans Saints 24 17 22 373 166 207 3 14 308 220 88 4
4 Sun September 24 boxscore W 2-2 Miami Dolphins 17 3 20 337 115 222 1 9 143 61 82 3
5 Sun October 1 boxscore W 3-2 @ Baltimore Colts 17 14 21 362 117 245 2 13 234 145 89 1
6 Sun October 8 boxscore L 3-3 @ New England Patriots 14 24 17 293 186 107 4 22 394 189 205 4
7 Sun October 15 boxscore W 4-3 Washington Redskins 17 10 17 262 82 180 4 14 273 138 135 6
8 Sun October 22 boxscore L 4-4 @ Dallas Cowboys 7 14 15 262 145 117 1 15 278 87 191
9 Sun October 29 boxscore L 4-5 St. Louis Cardinals 10 16 19 352 220 132 5 15 354 260 94 3
10 Sun November 5 boxscore W 5-5 Green Bay Packers 10 3 10 148 97 51 1 15 385 211 174 5
11 Sun November 12 boxscore W 6-5 New York Jets 17 9 19 283 129 154 2 15 248 140 108 4
12 Sun November 19 boxscore W 7-5 @ New York Giants 19 17 23 314 164 150 3 14 281 181 100 3
13 Sun November 26 boxscore W 8-5 @ St. Louis Cardinals 14 10 15 244 149 95 17 294 192 102 3
14 Sun December 3 boxscore L 8-6 @ Minnesota Vikings 27 28 18 376 213 163 1 23 369 289 80 3
15 Sun December 10 boxscore L 8-7 Dallas Cowboys 13 31 11 224 85 139 5 17 315 169 146
16 Sun December 17 boxscore W 9-7 New York Giants 20 3 16 302 64 238 2 11 223 175 48 5
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 24 boxscore L 9-8 @ Atlanta Falcons 13 14 15 217 164 53 2 14 298 223 75 5