Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1938 Game Results & Schedule

1938 Pittsburgh Pirates

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

2-9-0, Finished 5th in NFL East Division  · 1938 NFL Season Summary

Scored 79 points (7.2/g), 10th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 169 points (15.4/g), 9th.
 Differential of -90 points (-8.2/g), 10th.  Expected W-L: 1.6-9.4.

Coach: Johnny Blood (2-9-0)

Stadium: Forbes Field
 Training Camp: St. Francis University (Loretto, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Fri September 9 boxscore L 0-1 @ Detroit Lions 7 16
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 0-2 New York Giants 14 27 6 251 73 178 3 13 223 135 88 1
3 Fri September 16 boxscore L 0-3 Philadelphia Eagles 7 27
2 Fri September 23 boxscore W 1-3 @ Brooklyn Dodgers 17 3 13 371 235 136 4 6 205 152 53 3
3 Mon October 3 boxscore W 2-3 @ New York Giants 13 10 10 216 50 166 2 7 186 104 82 3
6 Sun October 9 boxscore L 2-4 Brooklyn Dodgers 7 17
7 Sun October 23 boxscore L 2-5 @ Green Bay Packers 0 20
8 Sun November 6 boxscore L 2-6 Washington Redskins 0 7 4 178 178 13 351 351
10 Sun November 20 boxscore L 2-7 @ Philadelphia Eagles 7 14
10 Sun November 27 boxscore L 2-8 @ Washington Redskins 0 15 13 309 180 129 9 362 252 110
11 Sun December 4 boxscore L 2-9 Cleveland Rams 7 13