Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1961 Game Results & Schedule

1961 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-8-0, Finished 5th in NFL East Division  · 1961 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.7, Offense: -1.5, Defense: -0.3, SoS: -2.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 295 points (21.1/g), 8th of 14 in the NFL. Allowed 287 points (20.5/g), 7th.
 Differential of 8 points (0.6/g), 9th.  Expected W-L: 7.2-6.8.

Coach: Buddy Parker (6-8-0)

Stadium: Forbes Field
 Training Camp: Slippery Rock University (Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 24 27 15 342 237 105 4 20 403 307 96 2
2 Sun September 24 boxscore L 0-2 New York Giants 14 17 19 252 128 124 4 18 278 136 142 1
3 Sun October 1 boxscore L 0-3 @ Los Angeles Rams 14 24 14 218 124 94 8 17 258 216 42 3
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 0-4 @ Philadelphia Eagles 16 21 19 281 140 141 1 14 227 103 124 5
5 Sun October 15 boxscore W 1-4 Washington Redskins 20 0 12 185 90 95 5 13 191 126 65 7
6 Sun October 22 boxscore L 1-5 Cleveland Browns 28 30 17 309 222 87 3 21 378 149 229 4
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 2-5 San Francisco 49ers 20 10 8 204 48 156 1 12 216 164 52 3
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 3-5 @ Cleveland Browns 17 13 18 356 196 160 2 14 252 104 148 2
9 Sun November 12 boxscore W 4-5 Dallas Cowboys 37 7 22 371 204 167 1 8 185 122 63 2
10 Sun November 19 boxscore L 4-6 @ New York Giants 21 42 20 305 187 118 4 21 425 304 121 2
11 Sun November 26 boxscore W 5-6 St. Louis Cardinals 30 27 19 347 187 160 7 12 224 165 59 7
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 5-7 Philadelphia Eagles 24 35 20 361 200 161 7 12 284 192 92 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore W 6-7 @ Washington Redskins 30 14 20 324 214 110 3 21 343 247 96 3
14 Sun December 17 boxscore L 6-8 @ St. Louis Cardinals 0 20 16 238 155 83 6 15 245 111 134 1