Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Pittsburgh Steelers > 1971 Game Results & Schedule

1971 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-8-0, AFC Central Division  · 1971 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -3.6, Offense: -1.8, Defense: -1.8, SoS: -0.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 246 points (17.6/g), 17th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 292 points (20.9/g), 17th.
 Differential of -46 points (-3.3/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 5.6-8.4.

Coach: Chuck Noll (6-8-0)

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 19 boxscore L 0-1 @ Chicago Bears 15 17 15 352 129 223 7 8 141 96 45 4
2 Sun September 26 boxscore W 1-1 Cincinnati Bengals 21 10 15 288 208 80 3 15 253 225 28 1
3 Sun October 3 boxscore W 2-1 San Diego Chargers 21 17 16 282 157 125 1 28 427 258 169 4
4 Sun October 10 boxscore L 2-2 @ Cleveland Browns 17 27 11 222 112 110 1 20 350 219 131 3
5 Mon October 18 boxscore L 2-3 @ Kansas City Chiefs 16 38 18 322 251 71 4 15 348 285 63 2
6 Sun October 24 boxscore W 3-3 Houston Oilers 23 16 26 419 254 165 5 19 272 180 92 2
7 Sun October 31 boxscore L 3-4 @ Baltimore Colts 21 34 14 181 155 26 2 19 383 312 71 2
8 Sun November 7 boxscore W 4-4 Cleveland Browns 26 9 21 393 163 230 1 11 210 81 129 3
9 Sun November 14 boxscore L 4-5 @ Miami Dolphins 21 24 17 288 219 69 4 11 309 189 120 4
10 Sun November 21 boxscore W 5-5 New York Giants 17 13 11 175 60 115 22 419 273 146 3
11 Sun November 28 boxscore L 5-6 Denver Broncos 10 22 12 225 67 158 3 14 276 150 126 2
12 Sun December 5 boxscore L 5-7 @ Houston Oilers 3 29 10 132 59 73 3 15 275 128 147
13 Sun December 12 boxscore W 6-7 @ Cincinnati Bengals 21 13 16 272 146 126 3 14 348 222 126 5
14 Sun December 19 boxscore L 6-8 Los Angeles Rams 14 23 24 331 144 187 5 14 237 148 89