Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977 Game Results & Schedule

1977 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-5-0, Finished 1st in AFC Central Division  · 1977 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.2, Offense: 3.9, Defense: 2.3, SoS: 3.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 283 points (20.2/g), 7th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 243 points (17.4/g), 17th.
 Differential of 40 points (2.9/g), 10th.  Expected W-L: 8.3-5.7.

Coach: Chuck Noll (9-5-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Bud Carson

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 19 boxscore W 1-0 San Francisco 49ers 27 0 19 308 133 175 1 8 101 19 82 3
2 Sun September 25 boxscore L 1-1 Oakland Raiders 7 16 18 369 217 152 5 13 247 107 140
3 Sun October 2 boxscore W 2-1 @ Cleveland Browns 28 14 21 361 143 218 2 16 165 85 80 5
4 Sun October 9 boxscore L 2-2 @ Houston Oilers 10 27 21 389 211 178 9 15 267 169 98 2
5 Mon October 17 boxscore W 3-2 Cincinnati Bengals 20 14 18 253 87 166 3 20 311 208 103 5
6 Sun October 23 boxscore W 4-2 Houston Oilers 27 10 19 352 227 125 6 10 119 -14 133 6
7 Sun October 30 boxscore L 4-3 @ Baltimore Colts 21 31 18 383 219 164 6 22 318 158 160
8 Sun November 6 boxscore L 4-4 @ Denver Broncos 7 21 19 216 97 119 2 12 174 75 99
9 Sun November 13 boxscore W 5-4 Cleveland Browns 35 31 25 420 249 171 4 23 421 283 138 4
10 Sun November 20 boxscore W 6-4 Dallas Cowboys 28 13 17 320 92 228 1 20 337 201 136 2
11 Sun November 27 boxscore W 7-4 @ New York Jets 23 20 15 238 124 114 1 21 268 59 209 6
12 Sun December 4 boxscore W 8-4 Seattle Seahawks 30 20 22 393 157 236 2 17 376 210 166 4
13 Sat December 10 boxscore L 8-5 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 17 21 362 239 123 5 17 413 302 111 3
14 Sun December 18 boxscore W 9-5 @ San Diego Chargers 10 9 13 281 192 89 2 14 175 107 68 4
Playoffs
Division Sat December 24 boxscore L 9-6 @ Denver Broncos 21 34 18 304 177 127 4 15 258 155 103 1