Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 2nd in AFC Central Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 2.7, Offense: 1.2, Defense: 1.5, SoS: -1.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 356 points (22.2/g), 8th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 297 points (18.6/g), 11th.
 Differential of 59 points (3.7/g), 10th.  Expected W-L: 9.7-6.3.

Coach: Chuck Noll (8-8-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Woody Widenhofer
 Other Notable Asst.: Tony Dungy (Defensive Assistant)

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 6 boxscore L 0-1 Kansas City Chiefs 33 37 29 408 319 89 7 17 353 214 139 2
2 Thu September 10 boxscore L 0-2 @ Miami Dolphins 10 30 15 300 183 117 2 25 346 161 185 1
3 Sun September 20 boxscore W 1-2 New York Jets 38 10 33 566 223 343 1 16 258 174 84 2
4 Sun September 27 boxscore W OT 2-2 New England Patriots 27 21 27 498 247 251 24 438 323 115 1
5 Sun October 4 boxscore W 3-2 @ New Orleans Saints 20 6 19 406 269 137 3 16 180 102 78 5
6 Sun October 11 boxscore W 4-2 Cleveland Browns 13 7 19 365 199 166 1 26 445 279 166 3
7 Sun October 18 boxscore L 4-3 @ Cincinnati Bengals 7 34 10 205 140 65 1 25 494 330 164
8 Mon October 26 boxscore W 5-3 Houston Oilers 26 13 22 363 196 167 1 13 307 231 76 3
9 Sun November 1 boxscore L 5-4 San Francisco 49ers 14 17 16 269 125 144 6 25 330 200 130 2
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L 5-5 @ Seattle Seahawks 21 24 17 367 205 162 2 19 356 260 96 1
11 Sun November 15 boxscore W 6-5 @ Atlanta Falcons 34 20 13 293 221 72 3 24 441 380 61 6
12 Sun November 22 boxscore W 7-5 @ Cleveland Browns 32 10 25 362 223 139 5 22 365 219 146 7
13 Sun November 29 boxscore W 8-5 Los Angeles Rams 24 0 18 381 170 211 3 12 174 103 71 4
14 Mon December 7 boxscore L 8-6 @ Oakland Raiders 27 30 24 331 235 96 2 22 471 257 214 5
15 Sun December 13 boxscore L 8-7 Cincinnati Bengals 10 17 14 207 120 87 2 19 318 215 103 2
16 Sun December 20 boxscore L 8-8 @ Houston Oilers 20 21 17 277 151 126 2 18 376 335 41 2