Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Pittsburgh Steelers > 1986 Game Results & Schedule

1986 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-10-0, Finished 3rd in AFC Central Division  · 1986 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.0, Offense: -1.3, Defense: 0.3, SoS: 0.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 307 points (19.2/g), 18th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 336 points (21.0/g), 17th.
 Differential of -29 points (-1.8/g), 19th.  Expected W-L: 7.1-8.9.

Coach: Chuck Noll (6-10-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Tom Moore
 Defensive Coordinator: Tony Dungy

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore L 0-1 @ Seattle Seahawks 0 30 9 146 61 85 5 20 374 172 202 2
2 Mon September 15 boxscore L 0-2 Denver Broncos 10 21 17 236 206 30 3 20 326 235 91 1
3 Sun September 21 boxscore L 0-3 @ Minnesota Vikings 7 31 13 235 154 81 3 22 412 250 162 1
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W OT 1-3 @ Houston Oilers 22 16 22 375 161 214 2 19 281 200 81 3
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 1-4 Cleveland Browns 24 27 19 308 132 176 4 16 270 162 108 3
6 Mon October 13 boxscore L 1-5 @ Cincinnati Bengals 22 24 15 288 180 108 1 16 359 211 148 1
7 Sun October 19 boxscore L 1-6 New England Patriots 0 34 11 168 54 114 4 16 317 243 74 1
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 2-6 Cincinnati Bengals 30 9 22 332 94 238 23 371 249 122 2
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 3-6 Green Bay Packers 27 3 19 321 195 126 2 11 240 179 61 4
10 Sun November 9 boxscore L 3-7 @ Buffalo Bills 12 16 11 185 132 53 1 18 248 76 172 1
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 4-7 Houston Oilers 21 10 20 287 116 171 1 19 291 220 71 2
12 Sun November 23 boxscore L OT 4-8 @ Cleveland Browns 31 37 20 339 197 142 1 35 536 414 122 1
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L OT 4-9 @ Chicago Bears 10 13 18 291 159 132 3 25 406 235 171 3
14 Sun December 7 boxscore W 5-9 Detroit Lions 27 17 23 421 218 203 3 13 281 178 103 3
15 Sat December 13 boxscore W 6-9 @ New York Jets 45 24 25 364 189 175 1 22 369 223 146 4
16 Sun December 21 boxscore L 6-10 Kansas City Chiefs 19 24 28 515 340 175 2 8 171 133 38 1