Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1988 Game Results & Schedule

1988 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-11-0, AFC Central Division  · 1988 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -5.3, Offense: 0.1, Defense: -5.5, SoS: -0.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 336 points (21.0/g), 13th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 421 points (26.3/g), 28th.
 Differential of -85 points (-5.3/g), 24th.  Expected W-L: 5.9-10.1.

Coach: Chuck Noll (5-11-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Tom Moore
 Defensive Coordinator: Tony Dungy

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 Dallas Cowboys 24 21 17 356 214 142 25 414 280 134 3
2 Sun September 11 boxscore L 1-1 @ Washington Redskins 29 30 14 341 258 83 1 25 515 422 93 3
3 Sun September 18 boxscore L 1-2 Cincinnati Bengals 12 17 19 319 195 124 6 20 306 190 116 1
4 Sun September 25 boxscore L 1-3 @ Buffalo Bills 28 36 25 408 314 94 5 22 398 282 116 3
5 Sun October 2 boxscore L 1-4 Cleveland Browns 9 23 13 183 94 89 5 15 299 131 168 1
6 Sun October 9 boxscore L 1-5 @ Phoenix Cardinals 14 31 10 203 125 78 2 21 388 285 103 3
7 Sun October 16 boxscore L 1-6 Houston Oilers 14 34 23 344 251 93 4 18 309 185 124
8 Sun October 23 boxscore W 2-6 Denver Broncos 39 21 18 386 130 256 2 15 323 278 45 4
9 Sun October 30 boxscore L 2-7 @ New York Jets 20 24 15 352 209 143 4 15 196 112 84 1
10 Sun November 6 boxscore L 2-8 @ Cincinnati Bengals 7 42 15 198 97 101 28 559 338 221 2
11 Sun November 13 boxscore L 2-9 Philadelphia Eagles 26 27 19 361 197 164 1 27 358 252 106 3
12 Sun November 20 boxscore L 2-10 @ Cleveland Browns 7 27 18 285 167 118 4 11 262 192 70
13 Sun November 27 boxscore W 3-10 Kansas City Chiefs 16 10 19 336 122 214 1 19 366 278 88 2
14 Sun December 4 boxscore W 4-10 @ Houston Oilers 37 34 23 426 332 94 23 403 269 134 4
15 Sun December 11 boxscore L 4-11 @ San Diego Chargers 14 20 20 302 172 130 3 17 324 144 180
16 Sun December 18 boxscore W 5-11 Miami Dolphins 40 24 24 404 99 305 1 18 385 303 82 3