Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996 Game Results & Schedule

1996 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, Finished 1st in AFC Central Division  · 1996 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.2, Offense: 0.0, Defense: 5.1, SoS: -0.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 344 points (21.5/g), 11th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 257 points (16.1/g), 4th.
 Differential of 87 points (5.4/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 10.7-5.3.

Coach: Bill Cowher (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Chan Gailey
 Defensive Coordinator: Dick LeBeau
 Other Notable Asst.: Mike Mularkey (Tight Ends)

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 1 boxscore L 0-1 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 9 24 13 187 86 101 2 22 313 194 119 2
2 Sun September 8 boxscore W 1-1 Baltimore Ravens 31 17 26 397 191 206 2 17 251 154 97 3
3 Mon September 16 boxscore W 2-1 Buffalo Bills 24 6 22 382 160 222 1 11 185 99 86 4
4 Bye Week
5 Sun September 29 boxscore W 3-1 Houston Oilers 30 16 15 309 197 112 2 16 273 193 80 5
6 Mon October 7 boxscore W 4-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 17 7 21 436 338 98 3 17 300 170 130 3
7 Sun October 13 boxscore W 5-1 Cincinnati Bengals 20 10 17 306 182 124 2 20 252 158 94 2
8 Sun October 20 boxscore L 5-2 @ Houston Oilers 13 23 12 275 192 83 2 23 328 237 91 2
9 Sun October 27 boxscore W 6-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 20 17 20 311 184 127 19 301 234 67 1
10 Sun November 3 boxscore W 7-2 St. Louis Rams 42 6 20 348 100 248 1 18 201 137 64 3
11 Sun November 10 boxscore L 7-3 @ Cincinnati Bengals 24 34 18 317 180 137 4 25 372 260 112 3
12 Sun November 17 boxscore W 8-3 Jacksonville Jaguars 28 3 15 198 90 108 1 20 239 161 78 4
13 Mon November 25 boxscore W 9-3 @ Miami Dolphins 24 17 23 381 239 142 3 15 312 237 75 1
14 Sun December 1 boxscore L 9-4 @ Baltimore Ravens 17 31 18 333 214 119 1 19 372 250 122 1
15 Sun December 8 boxscore W 10-4 San Diego Chargers 16 3 21 327 160 167 4 8 148 83 65 4
16 Sun December 15 boxscore L 10-5 San Francisco 49ers 15 25 23 368 248 120 3 21 288 232 56
17 Sun December 22 boxscore L 10-6 @ Carolina Panthers 14 18 12 265 80 185 2 15 227 148 79 2
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 29 boxscore W 11-6 Indianapolis Colts 42 14 24 407 176 231 3 8 146 105 41 2
Division Sun January 5 boxscore L 11-7 @ New England Patriots 3 28 12 213 90 123 2 17 346 152 194 2