Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1966 Game Results & Schedule

1966 San Diego Chargers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-6-1, Finished 3rd in AFL West Division  · 1966 AFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 4.1, Offense: 1.7, Defense: 2.4, SoS: 0.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 335 points (23.9/g), 3rd of 9 in the AFL. Allowed 284 points (20.3/g), 4th.
 Differential of 51 points (3.6/g), 3rd.  Expected W-L: 8.4-5.6.

Coach: Sid Gillman (7-6-1)

Stadium: Balboa Stadium
 Training Camp: TraveLodge (Escondido, California)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 Buffalo Bills 27 7 15 290 153 137 15 267 150 117 3
2 Sat September 10 boxscore W 2-0 Boston Patriots 24 0 12 279 141 138 15 252 122 130 4
4 Sun September 25 boxscore W 3-0 @ Oakland Raiders 29 20 12 276 143 133 2 18 262 153 109 4
4 Sun October 2 boxscore W 4-0 Miami Dolphins 44 10 14 361 321 40 2 16 276 89 187 2
5 Sat October 8 boxscore L 4-1 @ New York Jets 16 17 23 445 350 95 1 12 248 129 119 3
7 Sun October 16 boxscore T 4-1-1 @ Buffalo Bills 17 17 12 219 169 50 22 320 107 213 2
6 Sun October 23 boxscore L 4-2-1 @ Boston Patriots 17 35 16 329 289 40 3 22 414 242 172 4
8 Sun October 30 boxscore W 5-2-1 Denver Broncos 24 17 21 334 180 154 2 15 280 155 125
9 Sun November 6 boxscore L 5-3-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 14 24 14 287 203 84 2 24 302 143 159 2
10 Sun November 13 boxscore L 5-4-1 Oakland Raiders 19 41 16 318 167 151 2 20 477 258 219
11 Sun November 27 boxscore L 5-5-1 @ Denver Broncos 17 20 16 286 200 86 2 16 343 173 170 3
12 Sun December 4 boxscore W 6-5-1 @ Houston Oilers 28 22 15 378 302 76 3 23 395 152 243 2
13 Sun December 11 boxscore W 7-5-1 New York Jets 42 27 25 425 203 222 1 20 335 189 146 4
14 Sun December 18 boxscore L 7-6-1 Kansas City Chiefs 17 27 19 326 195 131 2 22 387 93 294 2