Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 San Diego Chargers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-9-1, Finished 4th in AFC West Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -2.8, Offense: -0.2, Defense: -2.6, SoS: 2.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 264 points (18.9/g), 18th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 344 points (24.6/g), 20th.
 Differential of -80 points (-5.7/g), 20th.  Expected W-L: 4.9-9.1.

Coach: Harland Svare (4-9-1)

Stadium: San Diego Stadium
 Training Camp: UC Irvine (Irvine, California)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 @ San Francisco 49ers 3 34 13 258 171 87 5 18 295 178 117 2
2 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-1 Denver Broncos 37 14 18 317 175 142 2 17 313 218 95 6
3 Sun October 1 boxscore T 1-1-1 @ Oakland Raiders 17 17 20 345 149 196 3 15 232 142 90 1
4 Sun October 8 boxscore W 2-1-1 @ Baltimore Colts 23 20 24 350 137 213 5 19 265 120 145 3
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 2-2-1 @ Miami Dolphins 10 24 15 243 110 133 3 14 239 86 153 1
6 Sun October 22 boxscore L 2-3-1 @ Detroit Lions 20 34 17 225 143 82 3 24 324 142 182 2
7 Sun October 29 boxscore L 2-4-1 Kansas City Chiefs 14 26 16 280 199 81 5 15 268 134 134 2
8 Sun November 5 boxscore L 2-5-1 Dallas Cowboys 28 34 17 346 202 144 4 17 269 169 100 2
9 Mon November 13 boxscore L 2-6-1 Cleveland Browns 17 21 24 327 136 191 3 18 299 175 124 1
10 Sun November 19 boxscore W 3-6-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 27 17 17 294 186 108 22 363 264 99 6
11 Sun November 26 boxscore W 4-6-1 Houston Oilers 34 20 23 367 137 230 1 18 213 162 51 1
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 4-7-1 Oakland Raiders 19 21 26 440 207 233 2 17 298 202 96 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore L 4-8-1 @ Denver Broncos 13 38 20 335 236 99 5 15 257 85 172 3
14 Sun December 17 boxscore L 4-9-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 2 24 12 172 116 56 7 15 246 131 115 1