Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > San Diego Chargers > 1973 Game Results & Schedule

1973 San Diego Chargers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

2-11-1, AFC West Division  · 1973 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -12.0, Offense: -3.6, Defense: -8.4, SoS: 2.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 188 points (13.4/g), 25th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 386 points (27.6/g), 24th.
 Differential of -198 points (-14.1/g), 25th.  Expected W-L: 2.2-11.8.

Coach: Harland Svare (1-6-1) and Ron Waller (1-5-0)

Stadium: San Diego Stadium
 Training Camp: UC Irvine (Irvine, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 16 boxscore L 0-1 @ Washington Redskins 0 38 10 135 7 128 7 13 211 128 83 2
2 Sun September 23 boxscore W 1-1 Buffalo Bills 34 7 17 354 249 105 1 16 287 139 148 4
3 Sun September 30 boxscore L 1-2 Cincinnati Bengals 13 20 17 291 177 114 4 19 417 215 202 2
4 Sun October 7 boxscore L 1-3 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 21 38 20 348 181 167 6 15 286 132 154 5
5 Sun October 14 boxscore L 1-4 Oakland Raiders 17 27 18 269 179 90 4 20 367 187 180 2
6 Sun October 21 boxscore L 1-5 Atlanta Falcons 0 41 11 177 88 89 5 25 338 142 196 2
7 Sun October 28 boxscore T 1-5-1 @ Cleveland Browns 16 16 16 339 135 204 2 13 184 66 118 3
8 Sun November 4 boxscore L 1-6-1 Kansas City Chiefs 0 19 11 190 99 91 4 17 332 144 188 1
9 Sun November 11 boxscore L 1-7-1 @ Denver Broncos 19 30 14 221 101 120 2 21 413 234 179 3
10 Sun November 18 boxscore W 2-7-1 New Orleans Saints 17 14 14 288 102 186 2 22 341 199 142 3
11 Sun November 25 boxscore L 2-8-1 @ Oakland Raiders 3 31 13 235 118 117 2 22 320 165 155 2
12 Sun December 2 boxscore L 2-9-1 @ New England Patriots 14 30 11 231 44 187 3 22 359 175 184 5
13 Sun December 9 boxscore L 2-10-1 Denver Broncos 28 42 14 341 215 126 3 23 423 231 192
14 Sun December 16 boxscore L 2-11-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 6 33 12 203 113 90 6 19 240 97 143