Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > San Francisco 49ers > 1989 Game Results & Schedule

1989 San Francisco 49ers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

14-2-0, Finished 1st in NFC West Division  · 1989 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 10.7, Offense: 5.8, Defense: 4.9, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 442 points (27.6/g), 1st of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 253 points (15.8/g), 3rd.
 Differential of 189 points (11.8/g), 1st.  Expected W-L: 12.6-3.4.

Coach: George Seifert (14-2-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Mike Holmgren
 Defensive Coordinator: Bill McPherson

Stadium: Candlestick Park
 Training Camp: Sierra College (Rocklin, California)


Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 10 boxscore W 1-0 @ Indianapolis Colts 30 24 24 404 204 200 22 344 190 154 1
2 Sun September 17 boxscore W 2-0 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 20 16 22 307 244 63 3 13 217 126 91 3
3 Sun September 24 boxscore W 3-0 @ Philadelphia Eagles 38 28 19 444 385 59 3 22 315 161 154 3
4 Sun October 1 boxscore L 3-1 Los Angeles Rams 12 13 22 367 215 152 1 11 287 250 37
5 Sun October 8 boxscore W 4-1 @ New Orleans Saints 24 20 18 358 282 76 1 18 334 299 35
6 Sun October 15 boxscore W 5-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 31 14 17 318 172 146 1 19 330 270 60 3
7 Sun October 22 boxscore W 6-1 New England Patriots 37 20 28 494 353 141 19 325 231 94 2
8 Sun October 29 boxscore W 7-1 @ New York Jets 23 10 20 399 240 159 1 19 251 121 130 2
9 Mon November 6 boxscore W 8-1 New Orleans Saints 31 13 21 397 302 95 16 243 160 83 2
10 Sun November 12 boxscore W 9-1 Atlanta Falcons 45 3 30 515 280 235 2 11 192 119 73 1
11 Sun November 19 boxscore L 9-2 Green Bay Packers 17 21 22 360 289 71 4 21 248 139 109 1
12 Mon November 27 boxscore W 10-2 New York Giants 34 24 24 381 285 96 3 23 342 290 52 5
13 Sun December 3 boxscore W 11-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 23 10 23 425 296 129 1 13 263 226 37 2
14 Mon December 11 boxscore W 12-2 @ Los Angeles Rams 30 27 25 502 439 63 2 24 337 231 106 2
15 Sun December 17 boxscore W 13-2 Buffalo Bills 21 10 18 283 132 151 2 17 301 255 46 5
16 Sun December 24 boxscore W 14-2 Chicago Bears 26 0 17 314 184 130 1 15 289 167 122 5
Playoffs
Division Sat January 6 boxscore W 15-2 Minnesota Vikings 41 13 22 403 241 162 1 25 385 299 86 5
ConfChamp Sun January 14 boxscore W 16-2 Los Angeles Rams 30 3 29 442 263 179 2 9 156 130 26 3
SuperBowl Sun January 28 boxscore W 17-2 N Denver Broncos 55 10 28 461 317 144 12 167 103 64 4