Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996 Game Results & Schedule

1996 San Francisco 49ers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-4-0, Finished 2nd in NFC West Division  · 1996 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.0, Offense: 3.7, Defense: 4.3, SoS: -0.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 398 points (24.9/g), 3rd of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 257 points (16.1/g), 4th.
 Differential of 141 points (8.8/g), 3rd.  Expected W-L: 11.8-4.2.

Coach: George Seifert (12-4-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Marc Trestman
 Defensive Coordinator: Pete Carroll
 Other Notable Asst.: Greg Knapp (Offensive Quality Control)

Stadium: 3Com Park
 Training Camp: Sierra College (Rocklin, California)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 1 boxscore W 1-0 New Orleans Saints 27 11 23 338 181 157 14 231 175 56 2
2 Sun September 8 boxscore W 2-0 St. Louis Rams 34 0 23 352 222 130 6 105 69 36 4
3 Bye Week
4 Sun September 22 boxscore L 2-1 @ Carolina Panthers 7 23 15 300 252 48 1 21 389 272 117 1
5 Sun September 29 boxscore W 3-1 Atlanta Falcons 39 17 16 396 246 150 18 317 191 126 4
6 Sun October 6 boxscore W 4-1 @ St. Louis Rams 28 11 23 389 235 154 2 15 202 137 65 4
7 Mon October 14 boxscore L OT 4-2 @ Green Bay Packers 20 23 14 253 179 74 2 24 446 378 68 2
8 Sun October 20 boxscore W 5-2 Cincinnati Bengals 28 21 20 418 338 80 5 18 345 196 149 1
9 Sun October 27 boxscore W 6-2 @ Houston Oilers 10 9 12 238 175 63 12 184 77 107 2
10 Sun November 3 boxscore W 7-2 @ New Orleans Saints 24 17 17 306 115 191 18 293 229 64 3
11 Sun November 10 boxscore L OT 7-3 Dallas Cowboys 17 20 16 267 156 111 3 20 316 222 94 1
12 Sun November 17 boxscore W 8-3 Baltimore Ravens 38 20 22 372 262 110 4 16 268 159 109 3
13 Sun November 24 boxscore W OT 9-3 @ Washington Redskins 19 16 27 392 275 117 1 15 360 282 78
14 Mon December 2 boxscore W 10-3 @ Atlanta Falcons 34 10 25 466 264 202 2 9 178 117 61 4
15 Sun December 8 boxscore L 10-4 Carolina Panthers 24 30 23 450 375 75 4 22 382 324 58
16 Sun December 15 boxscore W 11-4 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 25 15 21 288 232 56 23 368 248 120 3
17 Mon December 23 boxscore W 12-4 Detroit Lions 24 14 18 281 152 129 18 277 88 189
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 29 boxscore W 13-4 Philadelphia Eagles 14 0 17 279 161 118 16 283 212 71 3
Division Sat January 4 boxscore L 13-5 @ Green Bay Packers 14 35 12 196 128 68 5 15 210 71 139 1